Synchronising Drupal website from Mac to Windows Server??

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by nigelivy, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. nigelivy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Newbury, Berkshire, UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I've just installed Drupal on my Windows 2008 Server, and have started to develop a website. I can figure out how to connect to my website and develop it from my Mac.

    What is the best way to develop and test the website locally on my Mac, and then sync up to the live server?

    Thanks,

    Nigel
     
  2. splitpea macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Among the starlings
    #2
    Honestly, Drupal is a real pain to sync because so much of the configuration and customization is in the database instead of the files. The files are easy -- use FTP to do it manually, or Subversion to automate synchronization of all changes. For the database, well, it's a perennial topic of discussion and frustration on the Drupal forums -- if you do a search there you'll see some of the suggested solutions, none of which is perfect.
     
  3. nigelivy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Newbury, Berkshire, UK
    #3
    Thanks for the response splitpea. That's quite disappointing!
     
  4. elitesouth macrumors member

    elitesouth

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    Savannah GA
    #4
    Wouldn't you be relying more on the database instead of the files? I would think so.

    1. Move the database over
    2. Install Drupal
    3. Point it to the db
    4. then bring everything else over and see how that goes.

    Good luck!
     
  5. nigelivy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Newbury, Berkshire, UK
    #5
    Sorry, I didn't clarify - I am hosting the website on my server. I want to be able to work on the website on my Mac. Would I be able to work on the MySQL database (which is stored on the server) from my Mac as long as I have an internet connection?
     
  6. splitpea macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Among the starlings
    #6
    Most of the database changes are made using a browser in the Drupal admin interface. You can't use the same database for Drupal instances on two different computers (esp Mac vs Win) because they'll have different hostnames and file paths, unless you're changing your HOSTS file (or netinfo) all the time and setting up a boatload of symlinks.

    Besides which, it sort of negates the purpose of developing locally and then rolling out to the production server since if you're using the same DB for both any changes you make to the local version will also immediately take effect on the live version. You might as well just work on the live site directly.

    As far as theming and stuff, though, that can be done locally and then rolled out remotely using SVN or FTP.

    I usually do initial development locally or on a staging domain, and then do an all-at-once rollout where I copy the files and database to the production server and make the few specific changes to the DB and production files. That's fairly simple.

    It's the ongoing development and maintenance that's a real pain in the rear to sync. And even more so if you take user-driven input (e.g. blog comments).
     
  7. nigelivy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Newbury, Berkshire, UK
    #7
    Thanks for that splitpea. So just to clarify, if I hosted the site on my Windows server using WAMP and Drupal, I would be able to log onto the site remotely from my Mac and make changes to the live site?
     
  8. splitpea macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Among the starlings

Share This Page