syncing between device and cloud

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by XWolf, Jul 9, 2015.

  1. XWolf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    #1
    Hi
    If there's 3 ipad a,b,c and 1 sever

    3 ipad needs to by synced anytime

    abc all had aded some data and sent to sever,Before all of them got the latestes update from the server.

    Is there a way to tell the other 2 ipad the data that was added, and make sure 3 of them sync's up in the end and the data looks like whats will be back from the server.
     
  2. ViviUO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #2
  3. Vasilis macrumors regular

    Vasilis

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    If you like to backup folders you can use the "Rainbow - sync your data" app. It is available for both iPhone and iPad devices, and it will backup folders from any account to any account
     
  4. 1458279 Suspended

    1458279

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I'm not sure if the other solutions offered address your question or not, but some have used a custom system in order to address "dirty data".

    In the world of database mgmt you have a couple of solutions to this and it depends on the need to have clean data.

    One solution is to mark the data once it's been changed either on the device or on the server of the data. Once it's marked as changed, you can inform others that it's changed or you can wait for them to act upon the data and determine if the change made a difference.

    Another option is to simply have a rule for updates. Something like every day, hour, etc... Other solutions involve not letting everyone update the data or every update must lock the data or request a lock before they are allowed to edit.

    There's plenty of solutions and different ways to approach this. You really need to understand the usage of the data to properly address this.

    One simple solution that might work is to trigger an alert when data has been changed and needs an update. Or to allow the user to have a 'refresh' option.
     
  5. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #5
    It can be really complicated to do this. Why not require your users to have an internet connection and only get data from the server? Most people have an internet connection most of the time anyways, you'd be spending a heck of a lot of time worrying about something that people will only experience maybe 1% of the time.
     

Share This Page