Syncing Blackberry with Outlook/Entourage

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by billyb, Sep 9, 2007.

1. billyb macrumors member

Hope someone knows more about this than me...I've been using only Macs for so long that I'm having trouble remembering the issues with switching from PCs.

I've got a friend who's thinking of switching to Mac, but he's got an addiction to Outlook, which he synchronizes with his Blackberry. The Blackberry's for work, so that has to work, and I've got no experience with thiss. So, 2 questions:

1. Is it possible to get all the functionality of Outlook in Entourage? I haven't used either in a very long time, so I don't know how equivalent they are.

2. Would he be able to sync his BB with Entourage like he does with Outlook? No issues sync'ing contacts, calendar, and whatever else people with BB's sync?

Thanks very much. Just trying to help out a buddy.

-bb

2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

I can't really speak to the quality of Entourage... some people really like it, and others don't really care for it. It has most of the core functionality of Outlook, but I don't think it has every single feature. It also does have some nice features of its own, like a project management center, although I have not used this in depth.

I think the basic model is that Entourage provides data to an OS X core service called Sync Services, which arbitrages information synchronized between programs and devices. So this program is what makes contacts available between OS X Address Book and Entourage, and between Entourage and a device that you sync.

To get the Blackberry to Sync, you must use free Pocketmac software (or else some people pay for Missing Sync's software -- the latter does more, but I personally prefer Pocketmac, which has been, for me, simple, reliable, and straightforward).