Syncing contacts from Mac to MobileMe

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by FSUSem1noles, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #1
    Ok, this is driving me crazy and I can't seem to figure it out..

    I have my bookmarks, iCal and Address book info syncing from my MacBook Pro to MobileMe..

    All seems to work fine except the syncing of Contacts from the MacBook Pro to MobileMe.. I can add a contact on the laptop, manually sync it, and the changes that I made will NOT show up on MobileMe..

    Now, if I add the contact card through the MobileMe website, the contact is pushed to my laptop almost immediately.

    I tried deleting the sync setting and restablishing it, I tried deleting the address book plist.

    I'm at a loss as to how to get any contacts I add on my laptop to MobileMe and it's driving my nutty...

    Any help or input would greatly be appreciated!

    Thanks..
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    Sounds like you'll have to reset the contact sync data. In the MobileMe pane of System Preferences, click to the Sync tab, then Advanced in the lower right, then Reset Sync Data in the lower left of the next window. Choose whether you want to replace calendar data on the computer or on the cloud, whichever is the more "up-to-date" one, then click Replace. After its done replacing Contact information in either direction, add a test contact on the computer, do a normal sync and see if it appears on the cloud.

    On the off-chance something goes wrong, export out your Address Book data as an Address Book archive before you Reset Sync Data so you can always revert the computer's Address Book data back to before the sync.
     
  3. FSUSem1noles thread starter macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #3
    Thanks for the tip, I tried what you said and it still isn't getting sent from my laptop to the cloud...

    :confused:
     
  4. TwoBytes macrumors 68020

    TwoBytes

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #4
    i had a bunch of problems. After reading everything TWICE i followed the apple help guides here and it worked. Do a couple of restarts and clearing data but it WILL work and when it does, it will work.

    Note - a biggie to get MM working is get your data on your MAC and then REPLACE everything on your mobileme account.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1497

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1998
     
  5. kfresh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #5
    I had the same issue when my wife got an iPhone and went with mobile me. Since she already had contacts on her iPhone from the sim card and contacts she put into the Address book on her MacBook, MobileMe was getting confused. I tried EVERY tip and idea that I could get from the Mac Help sites and nothing would work. The cloud info and the iPhone were fine, I just kept getting errors trying to pull down to the MacBook. I had a nice long chat with an Apple Genius and we put our heads together and worked it out. If your cloud is correct simply select all the contacts from me.com and export a v-card archive. Open that archive in your computers address book. You will lose the photos you have attached to your contacts but everything else will stay intact. From now on you SHOULD have everything working together. Once everything is in line MobileMe will work like a charm.
     

Share This Page