Syncing one ipod or ipad with multiple macs

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Sackvillenb, Jun 2, 2011.

1. Sackvillenb macrumors 6502a

Sackvillenb

Ok, so I'm sure this question has been asked before, but I couldn't find any threads about it...

I'm quite experienced with macs, but I am new to ipods and the ipad. I have an imac, and macbook pro, an old ipod nano, and an ipad 1.

I currently sync the ipod and ipad to my imac, which has all my media (everything from music to documents to comic books). I do not run itunes on the MBP at all. Now, I know I can transfer this media to the MBP easily enough (e.g. copying the files), but how will the syncing itself work?

As far as I know, the ipod will get wiped whenever I switch between computers. That's a pain in the butt, but I can live with that. My main concern is the ipad... since it handles much more than just music.

I sync my documents to the ipad using itunes in the imac. But, now my imac is away being repaired... I have documents on an external HDD that I would like to transfer to the ipad... but can I do this with the MBP without wiping my ipad clean? If I try and sync it with the MBP, will it not erase my music and files?

And more importantly, if I sync the ipad with the MBP, will it erase my apps and everything? Is there anyway to link 2 instances of itunes together? By using my apple ID perhaps? Or can I simply not use my MBP with my ipad unless I am willing to accept that the ipad will get wiped?? Is the ipad really tied down to a single computer? I would find this odd... since many people have multiple computers...

You know, this whole syncing thing is probably what annoys me the most about apple. It shouldn't be so complicated... What do people do when their main computer dies, or gets replaced? Not counting the migration assistant, do we have to manually migrate all the itunes content to the new computer?