Syncing Photos to my iPod Touch...

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Jborkdugan, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. Jborkdugan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #1
    So I've run into a bit of a problem I cant seem to figure out...

    I have a folder with about 293MB of photos in it. I would like to put these photos on my iPod Touch...

    Now my iPod touch has over 350MB of free space, according to the little iTunes Bar-Graph Thing. However, when I attempt to sync my folder of photos to my iPod, I get a message saying I don't have enough room on my iPod, claiming that I am attempting to move over 500MB of data into my 350MB of free space.

    So why, when I am attempting to sync photos, does it take so much more space than the actual size of the photos? In addition, the resolution of these photos are 500 x 500 or more...So when iTunes reformats them (Which it does, doesn't it?) Shouldnt they be getting even SMALLER?

    Any help on how I can sync as many photos as possible, and why it does this would be much appreciated. Thanks =)
     
  2. Jborkdugan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
  3. QWho2005 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Maine, United States
    #3
    Ipods require a certain amount of free space by default...
    Maybe delete music that you don't listen to that often?

    Sorry, maybe someone else knows something I don't.
     
  4. Alex1411 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #4
    Copy pictures to Photo folder in the memory of the iPod like USB!
     
  5. TheIntruder macrumors 6502a

    TheIntruder

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #5
    I've run into this as well and have been able to work around it.

    First, I sync to remove the music (85% of my touch's capacity) by unchecking the playlist I have setup for the touch and leaving it off.

    Then I do a second sync with the photos but still no music.

    Finally, I sync one more time with the music playlist checked again.

    I don't know whether it's a bug in iTunes, or because the process requires some unspecified, but insufficient swap space on the touch, it works by doing it this way.
     

Share This Page