Synergy + Target Display Mode

Discussion in 'iMac' started by KiraDouji, May 11, 2011.

  1. KiraDouji macrumors member

    KiraDouji

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    First loop of the Bible Belt D:
    #1
    After a lot of searching and troubleshooting, I'm banging my head against the wall on this still, so if anyone can help, I'd really appreciate it!

    Scenario:
    1 PC
    1 iMac

    iMac is functioning as the display for the PC.
    ---- Target Display Mode = FUNCTIONAL :)

    Issue:

    2 keyboards, 2 mice and trackpad.

    Supposed Solution:
    Synergy. This program allows you to essentially 'host' a keyboard and mouse on one computer that the other computer can then connect a client to and use.

    After much ado I was able to get the program running in both directions:

    PC as host to client iMac
    AND
    iMac as host to client PC

    HOWEVER

    This does not seem to actually do anything. Both computers claim their program is running, however neither my iMac's bluetooth keyboard/trackpad nor my PC's USB keyboard and mouse can be shared to the other computer.

    Does anyone have any familiarity with this program and attempting to accomplish what is essentially a software KVM switch? My desk needs help!

    :apple: Kira
     
  2. ianma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester
    #2
    I found the Mac version of Synergy to be a pain to setup.

    Eventually managed to get PC<>Mac working using QuickSynergy. Much simpler to setup and would recommend you give it a go if you've not done so already.
    http://code.google.com/p/quicksynergy

    Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
     
  3. KiraDouji thread starter macrumors member

    KiraDouji

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    First loop of the Bible Belt D:
    #3
    I am using QuickSynergy, thank you... Could you tell me what order you set things up in? Perhaps I am going about it the wrong way...
     
  4. ianma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester
    #4
    I setup the server on the PC first and then QuickSynergy on the Mac in client mode, this resulted in the PC's keyboard and mouse being used.

    You also have to configure on the server (PC in my case) where both machines are relative to each other so mouse movement from one to the other can be tracked.

    Can't remeber what else, if anything, was done. This was setup on the machines at work, but I'll double check what their configuration is when I'm in next in a couple of hours.

    Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
     
  5. frega macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #5
    I've gotten both synergy to connect finally huzzah.

    I am able switch to the PC/move my mouse over to the PC, but not able to hit cmd-f2 so the mac enters target display mode. Anyone have any advice?
     
  6. chiarov macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    #6
    Did you ever get this working?

    I have Synergy setup and running across my Mac and PC and can use it fine with two separate monitors. But I'd like to consolidate to just one monitor.

    I have hotkeys setup in Synergy to switch from one machine to the other, but the problem is that with the CMD-F2 for switching to Target Display Mode on the Mac.

    Once I hit that, it seems my Synergy hotkeys won't work.

    Has anyone figured this out or have an alternative?
     
  7. dyman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    #7
    Hello guys, same here. Using iMac as display for iMac itself and PC connected to mdp. Synergy works but, after moving to second screen i cannot press Cmd+F2. Any solutions?

    best
    /m.
     

Share This Page