Synology DS1010+

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by crotalus99, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. crotalus99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    Just got the DS1010 the other day; I have everything running fine so far and in the process of transferring files. I posted this question over on their forums with no help.

    My issue is that the Synology Assistant worked fine, but I could not get Safari to connect to set up the folders and users. I searched the forums and could not figure it out. What I ended up doing is using Parallels to run Windows XP and setup it up in Internet Explorer. I guess I could just do that everytime I need to manage the Diskstation, but I would rather not. I am supposed to be able to just enter the IP address:5000, but it just says can't connect in Safari. The Macbook does see the DS and I can transfer files and as I said is present in Synology Assistant.

    I am using a Macbook Pro with Snow Leopard, hardwired into the network and on the same hub as the Diskstation. All Mac software is up too date. I do not run a firewall.

    Thanks for any help. I just thought it was weird that it works on the same laptop in Windows, but not OSX. Am I missing a setting in OSX??
     
  2. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I have the DS409 and have had no problems administrating it from my MBP running 10.6.x using Safari 4 and 5.

    Try connecting to the http://<ip address of DS>:5001/

    Also, it seems daft, but make sure you are using the right IP. A couple of times recently I have been trying to get on to a network resource and the IP address had changed.
     
  3. crotalus99 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    I tried IP:5001; still just get can't connect to server.

    I do have the right IP address because if I cut/paste into explorer in XP it loads right up no problems.

    Safari must be getting blocked somehow don't you think?

    Thanks
     
  4. crotalus99 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #4
    I figured it out.

    I run Little Snitch and it was blocking the port in Safari. It will usually give me a popup for something like that and I guess that's why I didn't think about it.

    Thanks all.
     
  5. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK

Share This Page