Synology NAS desktop/software question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Happymistakes, Jan 28, 2014.

1. Happymistakes macrumors newbie

I'm thinking of buying a Synology NAS. I'm a photographer and all my (huge) RAW files are on three external HD's. I'm running out of space and want the security of extra back-ups.

Anyway. I'm used to having to be able to see those HD's on my desktop and ad/delete and work from them. Will that be as easy and straightforward with the NAS? Or do I have to use their software to acces my stuff?

Thanks!

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Yes, once you access the shared drive in the Finder it will basically behave like any other disk, other then moving the files to trash. They're deleted immediately, not sitting in the trash bin. The synology may offer a trash bin for deleted files (my Qnap NAS does) but I'm not entirely sure.

Instead of a NAS, have you thought about a DAS, it offers similar features (such as RAID data redundancy) but its superior in that it connects via USB or Thunderbolt (depending on what you buy) where as the NAS is ethernet/wifi. Of course if you have multiple computers the NAS makes more sense.

3. Happymistakes thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks!!! Yes We have multiple computers so NAS would be the better option I guess.

I've narrowed it down to the Synology DS412+ with two 4TB WD hard disks to begin with. Still debating wether to go with the black or green. I'm not sure how much I will notice the speed difference. Any thoughts?

4. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

Good NAS choice, go with the NAS drives not the desktop drives.

PS what's your current backup strategy? The Synology can do timed backup to external storage.

5. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Ok, then yeah a NAS makes more sense :) As with what Peabody mentioned you need a good backup strategy for the NAS. As I'm sure you know, RAID is data redundancy not a backup solution.