Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

doobybiggs

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 5, 2012
I am looking into a new NAS, but want to run it setup as surveillance and PLEX/file server. Would the combo of these be a bad thing?

Should these Synology NAS boxes be used for one or the other activites? I am planning to got with either the 4 or 8 drive version and have 3-4 cameras running as well.

dimme

macrumors 68030
Feb 14, 2007
SF, CA
Have you thought of getting a MacMini and running it as a server? I have been running some sort of Mac server for 10+ years. I have often thought of a NAS but having the flexibly of a computer has been great. I have had projects come up where I needed to run linux or windows 24/7 and do so through VMs. Plus I use it as a iTunes server, plex, VPN server Back up my phone iPads etc, time machine, the list goes on.

Reactions: Shawn Llewellyn

jasnw

macrumors 65816
Nov 15, 2013
Seattle Area (NOT! Microsoft)
I went the same route as dimme (Mini rather than NAS) and was lucky enough to get my Mini prior to the 2014 downgrade. What was attractive about the Mini was mainly avoiding the myriad little issues involving a non-Apple system on a mostly-Apple network. Most NAS boxes run some flavor of Linux, and while macOS and Linux share a lot of architectural history there's a lot in macOS networking that "Just Doesn't Work" (tm) with classic *nix networking, at least not as well as it should. I've used Linux boxes for many years, longer than I've used macOS, but I didn't want to face the prospect of something not working and having to deal with the computer version of finger pointing between the two OS flavors. I bumped up the memory in my original Mini and replaced the spinner with an internal SD a few years ago and put big NAS-grade spinners in external drives on USB-3 connections. Works like a charm.