System configuration of Apple Mac for Iphone application Development

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by aneesahamedaa, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. aneesahamedaa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #1
    Hi experts,
    I am planning to purchase an Apple Mac machine. The purpose is for Iphone application development. I am not quite familiar with the hardware configurations of Mac.
    So can you please tell which would be the best Apple Mac configuration I can have for Iphone application development. It should give good performance and has to be economical as well. The sole purpose is for Iphone application development.
    Anees
     
  2. reflex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Mac mini 2GHz with a big screen, a comfortable keyboard and a good mouse.
     
  3. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #3
    You can get by with a Mac Mini ($599 new, around $350 on Ebay.) They pack enough punch to do what you need.
     
  4. imPoddible macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #4
    Agreed - this is the route I took. Picked up a Mac mini on eBay for £280 - it runs the SDK very nicely. If going for a used machine like this, make sure it's Intel.

    Cheers,

    imPoddible
     
  5. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #5
    If you already have a screen and keyboard/mouse the Mini is the ideal SDK machine. Make sure its an Intel machine and not PPC though, it also needs to be running Mac OS X Leopard (this is if you are going to be buying used). If you are buying brand new then don't worry about what I said since they all ship with Leopard and Intel processors.

    If you need a screen, and keyboard and mouse, then an iMac might be a better choice.
     
  6. gwerhart0800 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    #6
    I use a 1.83Ghz C2D Mini for iPhone app dev. You will need 2GB if you want to avoid swapping on large compiles. I upped mine to 4GB (3.1GB usable) because the cost is so low for the 2GB chips SODIMMs that it seemed like a very reasonable thing to do.
     
  7. richard.puckett macrumors newbie

    richard.puckett

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    I've been using a 1.83 GHZ iMac w/ 1 GB RAM w/o too much trouble. It gets a little jerky at times so I'll be upping the memory soon, but otherwise no complaints. In fact, I love the thing... Probably the key requirement is to make sure you get an Intel core.
     
  8. Fontano macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    #8
    If you are going to have to demo your app, and want to demo it on the simulator you may want to consider one of the Mac Books... especially as a backup to using the phone.

    I have found in some situations, that I can't get reception on the phone and we use a secured wifi (certificate based), ect.
     

Share This Page