System freeze

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by abhibeckert, Jun 6, 2016.

  1. abhibeckert macrumors regular

    abhibeckert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Cairns, Australia
    #1
    I have an Xcode build script that reliably causes my Early 2015 Retina MacBook Pro to freeze (at a different point in the build process each time).

    It's not the same as the widespread 10.11.4 freeze, with this freeze I can still move the mouse, but cannot switch apps/etc.

    All I can think is maybe having all four CPU cores running under full load for 5 minutes is causing the problem?

    Has anybody experienced anything similar?
     
  2. beebarb macrumors 6502

    beebarb

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    #2
    Well no, but what you describe does sound like the cause is as you suspect.
    Having all CPU cores maxed out will eventually cause the system to lock up for a period of time, because there's virtually no processing resources left.

    It'll eventually resolve itself once the backlog of instructions are processed.
    Is there some way you can reduce the processing load?
     
  3. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #3
    I have seen some similar reports on Apple dev forums. I'd recommend you to submit a bug report to Apple and attach the build script in question.
     
  4. abhibeckert thread starter macrumors regular

    abhibeckert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Cairns, Australia
    #4
    I don't think so, I left it stuck for a full hour on the same step with no progress. Normally it completes the entire process in about 5 or 10 minutes (5 min on my MacBook, 10 minutes on my older Mac Mini, which does not freeze).

    I'm working with `xcodebuild`, `ibtool` and so on. They don't have any method of throttling as far as I know.

    I guess I could put a 10 second sleep, but that'd make it painfully slow.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 7, 2016 ---
    Have you got a link to those? I can't find anything.

    I don't know enough about the bug (yet) to write up a useful in Radar issue.
     
  5. beebarb macrumors 6502

    beebarb

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    #5
    Oh dear, yes that is a problem.
    Beyond some sort of bug I'm not sure what could cause an indefinite hang like that.

    The ability to still move the mouse is what made me think it might have been a resources issue.
    I am sorry I wasn't helpful.
     
  6. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    It wasn't from an xcode build script, and I cannot give any specifics except I think this happened when using netbeans a few times. Anyway, I recall that although I could not switch to different applications, I was able to get to the "force quit" dialog and quit the offending application. Also, I have in the past ssh'ed into the machine and used the command line "kill" command to continue.
     

Share This Page