System freezes in 10.6.3 with CAD and Adobe Applications

Discussion in 'macOS' started by NStocks, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. NStocks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm having quite a lot of problems with my i7 Macbook Pro (spec in signature). When I use ArchiCAD, Illustrator, InDesign or even Acrobat, upon clicking on a line, fill slab, path or text box it takes my Mac around 5 seconds to respond to the click. What I mean specifically is when I want to edit something , say text, the dock will freeze making the computer unusable until the application responds.

    I formatted the HD over a week ago as I was having printing problems, and it seems to be after this format that I'm having issues.

    Is there anything I can do as I don't want to format the HD again...

    Thank You
     
  2. colourfastt macrumors 6502a

    colourfastt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #2
    If you look in the Apple discussion forums, you'll find a thread 28 pages long about system freezing problems with the 10.6.3 update.
     
  3. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I'n on 10.6.3. I did not upgrade to 10.6.4. The problems only seem to occur after I formatted, which is very strange...
     
  4. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Ok, I have now discovered it is not faulty ram or any hardware.

    I have repaired disk permissions, this has no affect.

    I have reset the RAM, this had no affect.

    I'm now in Safe Mode and it's working perfectly. I can click on a line, fill or text box in any application and it responds extremely fast!

    So now that I know it works fine in Safe Mode, how do I make it work fine in 'normal' mode? Do I need to format the HD?

    Thank You
     
  5. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #5
    I should also add that disconnecting any peripherals has made no difference either... In 'normal' mode the issues still persist.

    Do I need to format ?
     
  6. coolbits macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #6
    In safe mode some user apps do not load... check your login items and web plugins and maybe startup daemons.
     

Share This Page