System locks up, needs hard reboot.

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Ovedius, Jun 25, 2015.

  1. Ovedius, Jun 25, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015

    Ovedius macrumors 6502

    Ovedius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    Hi.

    I'm experiencing sporadic crashes on my Mac.
    Three times now while browsing with Safari the whole machine has locked up.
    The screen locks up completely and I can't click on anything; everything is unresponsive.
    It's quite weird because I can move the mouse freely but everything else is unresponsive.
    CMD+ALT+ESC doesn't even work, the only thing I can do is hold down the power button to reboot the machine.
    The machine boots fast like normal to the login screen, but logging in takes much longer than normal (up to 10-20 seconds).

    I repaired disk permissions yesterday.
    EDIT:
    And the two previous crashes happened a couple of days ago.

    I'm on a 2015, 15" Pro.
    I never encountered the same issue on my 2010, 13" Air which also ran Yosemite.

    Anyone else experience something similar?
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Download the run the free application EtreCheck. Then when in shows you an output that output will show you what apps, kecks, trojans, etc that are incompatible with your system. The output will also show a path to manually delete those bad files, then reboot after alll that deleting. Thus will speed up and possible help fix some problems.
     
  3. Ovedius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Ovedius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    Thanks for the tip!

    I've posted in Apple's Support Community:
    https://discussions.apple.com/message/28454926#28454926

    Hope someone else has experienced the same.


    Here is the report from EtreCheck:

    Problem description:


    System locks up sporadically.

    Screen freezes, keyboard becomes unresponsive, mouse pointer still responds, only cure is a hard reboot.



    EtreCheck version: 2.2 (132)

    Report generated 6/26/15, 2:14 AM

    Download EtreCheck from http://etresoft.com/etrecheck



    Click the [Click for support] links for help with non-Apple products.

    Click the [Click for details] links for more information about that line.



    Hardware Information: ℹ️

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015) (Verified)

    MacBook Pro - model: MacBookPro11,5

    1 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7 CPU: 4-core

    16 GB RAM Not upgradeable

    BANK 0/DIMM0

    8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz ok

    BANK 1/DIMM0

    8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz ok

    Bluetooth: Good - Handoff/Airdrop2 supported

    Wireless: en0: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac

    Battery: Health = Normal - Cycle count = 14 - SN = D865196Q5PNFWLKAY



    Video Information: ℹ️

    AMD Radeon R9 M370X - VRAM: 2048 MB

    Color LCD 3360 x 2100

    Intel Iris Pro



    System Software: ℹ️

    OS X 10.10.3 (14D2134) - Time since boot: 6:11:20



    Disk Information: ℹ️

    APPLE SSD SM1024G disk0 : (1 TB)

    EFI (disk0s1) <not mounted> : 210 MB

    Recovery HD (disk0s3) <not mounted> [Recovery]: 650 MB

    Macintosh HD (disk1) / : 999.33 GB (698.85 GB free)

    Encrypted AES-XTS Unlocked

    Core Storage: disk0s2 999.70 GB Online



    USB Information: ℹ️

    Apple Internal Memory Card Reader

    Broadcom Corp. Bluetooth USB Host Controller

    Apple Inc. Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad



    Thunderbolt Information: ℹ️

    Apple Inc. thunderbolt_bus



    Gatekeeper: ℹ️

    Mac App Store and identified developers



    Problem System Launch Daemons: ℹ️

    [failed] com.apple.mtrecorder.plist



    Launch Daemons: ℹ️

    [failed] com.apple.spirecorder.plist

    [loaded] com.axoniclabs.DeepSleepCmd.plist [Click for support]



    User Launch Agents: ℹ️

    [running] com.spotify.webhelper.plist [Click for support]

    [not loaded] com.valvesoftware.steamclean.plist [Click for support]



    User Login Items: ℹ️

    iTunesHelper Program (/Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/MacOS/iTunesHelper.app)



    Internet Plug-ins: ℹ️

    Default Browser: Version: 600 - SDK 10.10

    QuickTime Plugin: Version: 7.7.3



    Safari Extensions: ℹ️

    AdBlock

    Adblock Plus

    ClickToFlash

    Save to Pocket

    Evernote Web Clipper

    YoutubeWide



    3rd Party Preference Panes: ℹ️

    None



    Time Machine: ℹ️

    Time Machine not configured!



    Top Processes by CPU: ℹ️

    7% WindowServer

    2% fontd

    1% loginwindow

    0% DashboardClient

    0% taskgated



    Top Processes by Memory: ℹ️

    1.16 GB kernel_task

    328 MB Finder

    279 MB Safari

    197 MB mds_stores

    164 MB Dock



    Virtual Memory Information: ℹ️

    7.86 GB Free RAM

    8.14 GB Used RAM

    0 B Swap Used



    Diagnostics Information: ℹ️

    Jun 25, 2015, 08:02:32 PM Self test - passed

    Jun 25, 2015, 04:54:15 PM /Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/PillarsOfEternity_2015-06-25-165415_[redacted].cpu_resource.diag [Click for details]

    Jun 25, 2015, 12:00:56 AM /Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/PillarsOfEternity_2015-06-25-000056_[redacted].cpu_resource.diag [Click for details]

    Jun 24, 2015, 10:15:47 PM /Users/[redacted]/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/accountsd_2015-06-24-221547_[redacted].crash
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Did the crash times coincide with those two PillarsOfEternity crash logs on June 25?
     
  5. Ovedius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Ovedius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
    #5
    No, sadly not.

    Those crashes stem from a bug with Pillars that causes the game to crash upon launch if Automatic Graphics Switching is enabled. Just a FYI for those who might be in the same boat in regards to Pillars.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Just to eliminate these as the issue, you might try removing these two third party launch items.

    com.spotify.webhelper.plist
    com.axoniclabs.DeepSleepCmd.plist
     
  7. Ovedius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Ovedius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
    #7
    I think that Spotify plist will just regenerate anyway the next time I start Spotify though.
    But I will most certainly get rid of that DeepSleep infestation.

    Bit of a digression:
    That F**CKING DeepSleep crap, I thought I uninstalled it.
    I tried using it to identify a bit of a problem I thought I had with the screen looking all messed up upon waking up from Standby Mode. Useless app, ended up editing pmset through Terminal instead.
    The problem turned out to stem from the use of scaled resolutions, nothing to worry about.
     
  8. swingerofbirch macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #8
    Have yours started since 10.10.3? I've been having complete system freezes that seem to be related to WindowServer.

    In my Console I see:

    WindowServer[164]: Surface testing disallowed updates for 10 sequential attempts...

    This seems to be the most common message I see that shows up around the time the entire computer freezes.

    What's interesting is that I think it really just is the GUI that is freezing because after I power back on I can see that there were Console messages being generated during the period the computer was frozen.

    if there were a way to force quit WindowServer when this happens I could avoid having to manually power down, although that would close all processes as well and bring you back to the log-in screen.

    I am dreading calling Apple and explaining to some poor AppleCare worker what WindowServer is, so I probably won't put myself through that. Somehow I always end up feeling guilty for having a problem and like I'm a heel for explaining what's wrong. I've just sort of given up with these things.
     
  9. Ovedius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Ovedius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    I can't really answer that definitely, sadly.
    -The machine came with 10.10.3 preinstalled.
    My old Air ran 10.10.2 and I never had this particular issue with it.
    However I sold it before 10.10.3 came around so I don't have experience with .3 on it.

    Ha, yeah trying to describe technical problems to customer service is a Sisyphean task.
    Better just to jut out your jaw, knuckle your hands and start shouting about "WHY MACHINE DONT WERK! GIVE NEW MACHINE NAOW!" (and "MY BRAIN HURTS!"), at least then you might get somewhere.
     

Share This Page