System Preferences will not work with Mavericks

fancyfrancy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 29, 2014
I am not very good with my computer (that is why I have a MAC, because they are usually so simple) I just updated to Maverick and now system preferences won't work. Please explain in terms a "dummy" could understand. I have found other post but can't find this specific answer. Thanks in advance for your help.

fancyfrancy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 29, 2014
Sorry I can open it but when I click on any item they won't even open, or light up, or anything.

I have restarted my computer but still won't work.

I need to change my mouse clicks but system preferences is how I use my scanner for my printer.

Last edited:

Mintzar

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2014
Narnia
Maybe you should try restarting it, I'm on Mavericks and it works for me.
You can also try to use the spotlight search:
If you want to tweak the screansaver, you don't HAVE to click it in the System Preferences application, you can enter "screensaver" into the spotlight search and it may come up :)

anonnymouse

macrumors regular
Dec 4, 2011
It might be best for you to call AppleCare if you're in the US: 800-275-2273. If in a different country, I'll find the local number for you.

w0lf

macrumors 65816
Feb 16, 2013
USA
I'd probably try this: https://discussions.apple.com/message/12448768#12448768

Create a new User go to System Preferences > Accounts > "+" (make it an admin acct) and test System Preferences in this new account, if they work the problem is isolated to your User and not systemwide.

If the corruption is in your account only try this...

Go delete these files
/Users/YourUserName/Library/Preferences/com.apple.systempreferences.plist
/Users/YourUserName/Library/Preferences/com.apple.desktop.plist

alibutler

macrumors newbie
May 19, 2014
System Preferences Missing from Dock and unable to open