System Preferences will not work with Mavericks

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by fancyfrancy, Mar 29, 2014.

1. fancyfrancy macrumors newbie

I am not very good with my computer (that is why I have a MAC, because they are usually so simple) I just updated to Maverick and now system preferences won't work. Please explain in terms a "dummy" could understand. I have found other post but can't find this specific answer. Thanks in advance for your help.

2. simsaladimbamba

3. w0lf macrumors 65816

w0lf

4. fancyfrancy, Mar 29, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2014

fancyfrancy thread starter macrumors newbie

Sorry I can open it but when I click on any item they won't even open, or light up, or anything.

I have restarted my computer but still won't work.

I need to change my mouse clicks but system preferences is how I use my scanner for my printer.

5. Mintzar macrumors newbie

Maybe you should try restarting it, I'm on Mavericks and it works for me.
    You can also try to use the spotlight search:
    If you want to tweak the screansaver, you don't HAVE to click it in the System Preferences application, you can enter "screensaver" into the spotlight search and it may come up :)

6. anonnymouse macrumors regular

It might be best for you to call AppleCare if you're in the US: 800-275-2273. If in a different country, I'll find the local number for you.

7. w0lf macrumors 65816

w0lf

I'd probably try this: https://discussions.apple.com/message/12448768#12448768

8. alibutler macrumors newbie

System Preferences Missing from Dock and unable to open

Hi, have just upgraded to Maverick OS and on one of our User accounts amongst other problems the System Preferences Icon has disappeared from the dock. When I go to the Apple logo or into the Application Folder and try to open it from there nothing happens. The dock seems to move as if it is opening then nothing happens.