System restore on a Mac

Discussion in 'macOS' started by spaghettishark, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. spaghettishark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #1
    I'm unfamiliar with how to perform a system restore on a Mac. On my PC I can just go through the System Tools > Sys. Restore and have my PC almost back to how it was when I bought it.

    How can I do this on my Mac?
    I don't have the discs it came with, nor can I get new ones.
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    you need your restore discs or an os disk

    no other way
     
  3. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #3
    You will need install disks. Either the disks that came in the box of your computer or a set of leopard disks you can buy in any apple store.
     
  4. spaghettishark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #4
    There's no way to make a boot disc off of itself??

    I don't get why I would be locked to using a disc that I won't have with me at all times.
     
  5. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #5
    Nope, no way.

    If you don't have them then you can order them from Apple for less than $35
     
  6. lostngone macrumors demi-god

    lostngone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage
    #6

    Are you using Time Machine? You can roll the system back that way as well.

    Edit: However now that I think about it I guess you would need a Install disk for that as well.
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    why dont you have your discs?

    at all times? how often do you need to restore?

    i keep a bootbale flash image of leopard on my thumbdrive that i created the the os disc persoanly as it makes install a lot faster

    correct, you still need to install osx before you can use time machine
     
  8. spaghettishark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #8
    Having to restore isn't something I planned on, this is what I meant by "at all times". Of course the one time I do need to restore, I won't conveniently have the disc or the time to get one.
     
  9. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #9
    What is the problem you are having? Perhaps it can be solved without a reinstall.
     
  10. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #10
    If you have a working system you can clone your disk to an external drive with carbon copy cloner. If you use it correct you end up with a bootable hard drive. This used to be firewire only but should have changed since apple is no longer building firewire ports in some models.
     
  11. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #11
    System Restore is not the panacea you make it out to be. If you can't boot your PC, System Restore does you no good either. You will still need to have a Windows install or recover disk handy. Some lap tops come with a restore partition that that lets you restore the system to new state if it fails. But, all data that was on the disk is wiped out.

    If you are traveling with your lap top, make copies of your install discs and keep them in your laptop case.

    S-
     

Share This Page