System slow downs

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sidefx, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. sidefx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #1
    I updated to Lion and installed Aperture at the same time. I notice when I do some editing to a set of photos I just uploaded I get serious system slow downs. I have 4gb of ram and in Activity monitor Aperture is using just over 2gb of it leaving me with somewhere around 150mb free!!!

    My page in's are around 6 gb and pages out's are about 4.5gb. Is this a lion issue or should I consider 8gb of ram with a program like Aperture?
     
  2. sidefx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #2
    No one?

    I ordered 8gigs of ram off amazon hopefully that lowers my page outs...
     
  3. sidefx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #4
    I saw one post while searching that you can make aperture 3 32bit. They said to do that to reduce the ram usage of aperture.

    Could I try that while I wait for my ram?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Yes, just open the Applications folder in Finder (CMD+SHIFT+A) and select Aperture, open the Get Info window (CMD+I) and select "Open in 32-bit mode".
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #6
    That's a lot of pageouts. I would get 8 gb of ram like you stated.
     

Share This Page