Systems Prefs hates me. :(

Discussion in 'macOS' started by WilliamTM, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. WilliamTM macrumors member

    WilliamTM

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford, UK
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    Might be worth seeing if it is a problem with the preference file

    Move it to your desktop with system preferences closed. The open up system preferences and go back to the Desktop tab.
     
  3. WilliamTM thread starter macrumors member

    WilliamTM

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford, UK
    #3
    Okay, this is slightly weird. If I move that out the Prefs folder, the wallpaper goes back to Aurora, however, if I try and add a custom folder again, it adds it as a second "Aperture Projects" - and I still can't see any actual folders.

    So I now have, again, two Aperture Projects things, one of which opens into a menu with the Aperture stuff in it, and the other doesn't do anything.

    Maybe Aperture is screwing it up? :mad:
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    There is definitely a bug in there somewhere.

    I just did a google search on it and the following report the same problem you have.

    http://forums.macosxhints.com/showthread.php?t=87339
    http://macsolvers.wordpress.com/2008/08/20/aperture-bug/
    http://macenstein.com/default/archives/917
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=7920492
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=486121


    There are some possible solutions in these links but the reports are sketchy. Good luck and I guess it is time for you to fill out a bug report
     
  5. WilliamTM thread starter macrumors member

    WilliamTM

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford, UK
    #5
    Aha, the MacSolvers link worked - combined with completely removing Aperture too ('twas only a trial version, no harm done).

    Definitly a very odd bug I'd say. I shall indeed file a bug report with Apple. Thanks very much for the help though. :D
     

Share This Page