(T-mobile)Activating after unjailbreak & unlock w/turbosim

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by yomnym, May 15, 2009.

  1. yomnym macrumors 6502

    yomnym

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #1
    I currently have my Iphone 3g w/2.2.1 jailbroked and unlocked with turbo sim.. if i want to restore it to a new phone..how will i go about activating it again.
    Thanks alt for all your replies and help.
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    You will need to restore to 2.2.1 in iTunes, and then download and run Quickpwn to jailbreak/hacktivate the phone.
     
  3. yomnym thread starter macrumors 6502

    yomnym

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #3
    first, thanks for your help..
    Can i do the quickpwn hactivate/jailbreak after i take it to the apple store..as of now i wiped the phone because i broke something inside.. so basically i need to have them take care of this.

    So after this i could just wipe it again or just run quickpwn to hactivate it? Will hactivating it allow me to use my simcard with turbo sim? or will i need to jailbreak it as well?
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    The thing is, is that when you get your iPhone replaced, it most likely won't be unlockable by yellowsn0w, so Turbo sim is your only option. You will need to jailbreak it using quickpwn, otherwise any simcard you use besides AT&T's will say invalid sim. A jailbreak isn't required for turbo sim, but it helps.
     
  5. yomnym thread starter macrumors 6502

    yomnym

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #5
    i highly doubt that i would get it replaced... most probably since this is something i damaged i will have to pay for it.. but in that case you said i could use Turbosim?. I wiped the phone and then used quickpwn to jailbreak it and skip the activation so i'll be good.. im ready for it. Just need to see if they could replace the main board because thats where the sim pins where attached to.
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
  7. yomnym thread starter macrumors 6502

    yomnym

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #7
    Well here it goes.. Im reading the instructions and carefully putting in the sim tray the turbosim, above it the t-mobile simcard.. while im pushing it in very slowly the turbosim seems to get stuck and starts to crush the entering bottom tip of the turbosim chi,p so i take out the turbo sim and my SIM card but i notice the tray is stuck..??? I have no idea what it is stuck with inside the phone so i pull out gently and try and wiggle it a bit and pull and then snap... The sim card tray snapped. So the i buy a pair of screwdrivers and open the phone, remove the broken plastic tray and noticed that the sim contact pins are out of position... i get very thin blade and try and move it back into position but it snaps.. these things snapped as if they had been frozen and then broken.... Thanks how i broke all these components. I just hope something could be done.. because i've searched online and although they sell new screens, touch lcd's... they dont sell the main boards which is what i need.
     

Share This Page