T-Mobile band 12 not enable on iPhone 6s

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by HarryWild, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. HarryWild macrumors 6502a

    HarryWild

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #1
    Just heard that the new iPhone 6 did not enable band 12 for the new 700 MHZ so called "A" band that they been working on for a couple of years now! Wonder if Apple can do an update to fix this? Anyone know if it is a hardware or software fix?
     
  2. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    Might theoretically be possible for them to enable it, but if history is an indicator, they're unlikely to. I guess they don't want to risk bricking the baseband
     
  3. HarryWild thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HarryWild

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #3
    Apple already has the band 17 running at the same 700 MHZ! All they have to do is add a line of code to enable the band 12 and that is it!
     
  4. yeah macrumors 6502a

    yeah

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #4
    Band 12 is the lower 700 MHz (or A) and Band 13 is 700 MHz B, or spectrum that is slightly higher in frequency.

    Band 12 would require a new baseband chip, unless the current one supports Band 12.
     
  5. HarryWild thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HarryWild

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #5
    We will know if there in an upgrade to band 12 for either all iPhones or only to iPhone 6 or none when band 12 is road out in 2015.
     
  6. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    They can't release an update for it as the hardware is not in the phone. You'll likely have to buy the iPhone 6S next year when Apple adds that band to their devices.
     
  7. Allograft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #7
    They are technically slightly different, while it may just need some code, it might not, depends on how the baseband process and antenna were fashioned
     
  8. Caesars macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    #8
    And this is why we tmobile customers will want the 6s next year.
     
  9. zox2003 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    #9
    No band 12 is hardware supported by either 6 or 6 plus... 6s will be....
     
  10. HarryWild thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HarryWild

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #10
    Might have to go with my existing phone for now; wait another year for the 6S!

    With the bendable, bare antenna, 1GB RAM and now no band 12; the situation seem to be forcing me into waiting mode.... again! Crazy! Might have to pretend I have a contract still and have a year to go! Silly!

    There is a chance that Apple will fix the band 12 in the "unlocked" model coming at the end of November! I just going to wait till then and see what takes place.
     

Share This Page