Carrier T-mobile carrier update hack with / metro pcs support

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Knockoutjosie, Jul 3, 2014.

  1. Knockoutjosie macrumors 6502a

    Knockoutjosie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys found this over at r/jailbreaks and so far it has been working out pretty well.
    Here is the site for all you will need
    http://www.itweakios.com/apps/blog/show/42268485-beta-t-mobile-carrier-update-hack-roaming

    Features
    -Ability to check account balance, minutes used, texts sent, and data usage from your iPhone
    -Ability to track shipments from T-Mobile from your iPhone
    -Ability to refill your prepaid account quickly and easily from your iPhone
    -Free/Unlimited HotSpot and Tethering
    -Boosted signal reception (greatly depends on area, coverage, and land features)
    -Boosted Data Speeds
    -Optimized QoS for overall data usage
    -Quicker LTE connection/reconnection time upon bootup or ending a call
    -Prioritization of LTE and DC-HSPA+/HSPA+ for weaker coverage areas
    -Ability to Edit more APN settings
    -LTE+ data indicator to represent T-Mobile's new Wideband LTE network
    -IMS and VoLTE Capabilities enabled
    -Quicker message send time (instant on LTE)
    -Fixed bugs and enhanced HSPA+ network QoS
    -Fix to any text and picture messaging issues
    -Fix to any iMessaging issues

    Here are the steps

    1. Be sure that you have installed CommCenter Patch from this Cydia repo: http://apt.chinasnow.net
    2. Plug your device into iTunes and backup all data so you won’t lose anything, just in case.
    3. Download the Carrier Update Hack above in the "Required Before Install" section. We aren't responsible for anything that may happen if you download the wrong one or do not follow the guide properly.
    4. Once downloaded, make sure your device is still plugged into iTunes. Before you do anything, decline any and all prompts to update carrier settings or iOS software updates if you get these prompts. Now, you'll to go ahead and enable iTunes to except custom carrier updates, if it’s not already.
    5. Windows users, you will need to open command prompt then copy and paste the following in bold lettering and enter it in:

    64 bit: cd C:/Program Files (x86)/iTunes then copy and enter iTunes.exe/setPrefInt carrier-testing 1

    32 bit: cd C:/Program Files/iTunes then copy and enter iTunes.exe/setPrefInt carrier-testing 1

    Mac users, you will need to open terminal then copy and paste the following and enter it in:

    Mac: defaults write com.apple.iTunes carrier-testing -bool TRUE

    6. After this has successfully been entered in, click on the tab for your device in iTunes and click “Update” or “Check For Update” while holding down the Option key for Mac users and the Shift key for Windows users. Navigate to where you downloaded the Carrier Update Hack file then select it and click Open.
    7. The Carrier Update Hack should now successfully be installed. To be sure, go into the "Settings" app and navigate to General > About and be sure that the carrier version is 16.4. If it is, go ahead and reboot.

    If you encountered any problems or wish to revert back just follow the revert guide below.

    Revert Guide
    1. In iFile or some other file system browser for iOS, navigate to var/mobile/Library/Carrier Bundles and delete the entire folder named iPhone.
    2. Tap the remaining folder, Overlay, and delete all files located inside of the Overlay folder.
    3. Exit the file browser and reboot the device 2 times. After the 1st reboot, allow the device to acquire cellular signal, then proceed to the 2nd reboot.
    4. Your device should now be at stock settings.

    All the credit goes to joe012594 for this amazing tweak. Enjoy guys
     
  2. ross1998 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
  3. Demonface macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Jersey/Miami
  4. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Sorry, the article lost credibility with "boosted signal reception" ... lol.
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    here's my experience with hacked carrier packages in the past

    some of the features do indeed work such as quicker connection to LTE after dropping to 4G, hotspot

    I never did notice any real speed improvements, but higher bandwidth doesn't matter too much to me when i'm just web surfing or going on some internet apps

    but at some point in time, it did prove unstable enough that I just rolled back to the stock carrier package so I didn't have to deal with the problems anymore
     
  6. Demonface macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Jersey/Miami
    #6
    I did the update but I lost LTE and I only had HSPA+ , When I disabled HSPA+ ,It went to 3G. So I just reverted back to default settings.
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    The package changes the names shown in the status bar

    So HSPA+ probably means LTE
    While 3G meant 3G/4G
     
  8. Demonface macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Jersey/Miami
    #8
    Well I re-did it and now it says LTE+ and when I disable the "LTE+" it goes back to H+. But the the tethering is unlimited so I guess I'll keep it unless it starts to give me trouble.
     
  9. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #9
    It had you install a second package and that's the package that changes the names to LTE+ and H+
     
  10. Samanosuke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #10
    Not worth it in my opinion.

    Been there done that so many times that I prefer not to go back.
     
  11. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #11
    i'd love to do it on my son's 5s, which is on gosmart right now. it's 3g/4g but not lte. Would something like this work on gosmart to unlock lte? btw gosmart is a tmobile mvno
     
  12. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #12
    You don't understand what you're "just sayin" ... it may better utilize the connection, but by no means can this give "better reception" ... it's using the same antennae and same signal processor. If you think you're getting better reception, I have a little sticker to sell you that'll improve your antennae reception and cut radiation, just stick it to the battery, lol.
     
  13. ikm19 macrumors 6502

    ikm19

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  14. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #14
    Only select areas have VoLTE on t-mobile right now
     
  15. ikm19 macrumors 6502

    ikm19

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    I am in selected areas, working on note 3 just letting know it doesn't work on iphone
     
  16. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #16
    oops, and also forgot to mention only for select devices as well

    btw, how do you know your note 3 is using VoLTE?
     
  17. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #17
    Any idea if this will enable lte on gosmart? They're a tmobile variant
     
  18. JeReSpringer13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #18
    You can have the best antenna, but if you're not using it correctly, it's just as worthless as a cheap one. Spare us the pedantics. :rolleyes:
     
  19. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #19
    So anyone know if I could use this on gosmart mobile to get lte?
     
  20. aresham macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    #20
    Any idea when commcenter will patch so it works on 7.1?
     
  21. Demonface macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Jersey/Miami
    #21
    Im not sure , You will have to contact Joe because he's the one which made this carrier hack.
     
  22. Samanosuke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #22

    Worked fine for me on 7.1.2
     

Share This Page