T-mobile Data Plans/ AT&T Data Plans

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mongoose8p, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. mongoose8p macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Hey guys! Those of you are very happy bout the recent news of the iphone unlocking software coming very soon I have a Sidekick 3 on T-mobile right now with sidekick unlimited (Unlimited Text/internet(edge)/Instant messanging) for $20.00 bucks a month. which is amazing... I will not be able to use this plan with the iphone because the data portion requires an actual sidekick device to work... so I'm forced to find another data plan... does anyone know what the current options are for data plans tmobile are.. At&T are pretty good for the iphone but I really don't want to leave tmobile so what does everyone think?
     
  2. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    The add-on plans I know about right now are...

    $20 for the Blackberry plan (EDGE, BIS)
    $30 for the combination package for smartphones (EDGE, T-Mobile hotspot access)

    Neither plan includes any free messages. I know the Blackberry plan seems to allow data services on my other phone (RAZR V3, this is just GPRS now...), but I have no idea what happens if you never were to actually set up a Blackberry. The $30 plan is most directly comparable to what AT&T offers for the iPhone. You shouldn't have any trouble just telling them you picked up an unlocked Q or something like that. The phones that work with the $30 plans are not like the BB and Sidekick in that they do not use any special servers or anything, so you should have no trouble using any unlocked quad-band GSM/EDGE/WiFi device on them.

    It's hard to match the low end AT&T plan, but you can do something very close to the mid-grade one:

    $40 for 1000 weekday minutes
    $30 for EDGE + WiFi
    $5 for 400 SMS

    This would be $5 cheaper than the $80 AT&T plan (exclusive of any difference in fees / surcharges), and would give you 100 more minutes and 200 more SMS (not to mention T-Mobile's far more prevalent hotspots).
     
  4. mongoose8p thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    very good point so could the blackberry plan work with the iphone? or no? because then $20.00 data plan plus unlimited text $15 would be perfect for me... i have 2 other blackberrys for business so adding another "blackberry" would not be a problem....
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    I don't see why not. In essence, you're paying for a feature you're not using (another BIS account). The blackberry is already a data device that can use fairly substantial amounts of the unlimited EDGE services... so it seems like, from T-Mo's standpoint, it wouldn't make a difference. Of course, in principle, they could probably get pissy with you for not actually using a BB on the account, but....

    BTW, do you use the $20 unlimited EDGE BlackBerry plan also, or are you on a different one?
     
  6. mongoose8p thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    yeah i don't know how they would know either way... but what im saying is does the BB plan work with other phones or is it locked to BB like the sidekicks is/
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Yeah... it'd be ideal to have someone try an unlocked EDGE phone with their BB account. My T-Mo RAZR, if I put the SIM back into it, has unfettered access to the web, data apps (like Google Maps, which doesn't work with just T-Zones), etc. So it would seem yes, but then it isn't an EDGE device, so they might just feel sorry for me. :p
     
  8. mongoose8p thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    yeah that would be ideal crap it wont work in my sidekick i know that... or im pretty sure...and the other phone i have is motorola v330 and that has no edge

    UPDATE- did some looking around and it looks like the BB uses a special pin that doesn't allow you to do this just the same as the sidekick
     
  9. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #10
    Do service providers able to view what kind of phone/device you're using on your account? And would they lock you out if they figure out you're using a phone not made available for their system/company?
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Generally they don't, but it might be an issue for high data usage phones like the iPhone. The Sidekick and Blackberries are special cases because they require special server-side technology to work. But for other phones, I'm sure they know based on your IMEI....
     
  11. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #12
    Interesting, would they get mad if they find out you're using a hacked Iphone on their system?
    And would they go as far as closing your account?
     
  12. mongoose8p thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    no they wouldn't ppl use different phones all the time even phones from china and such they don't mind as long as your paying for everything remember wireless carriers make no money off of phones! they do by locking u into a 2 year contract and a 175 dollar early termination fee
     
  13. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #14
    Interesting.
    I know alot of guys in Europe are hacking it and using it with vodafone and other cellphone companys.
    It does use up alot of data compared to other cellphones though.
     
  14. mongoose8p thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #15
    yeah ill be getting the tmobile unlimited internet 30 bucks a month

    so thatll work out or me
     
  15. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    I stopped next door to a T-Mobile store and saw a sign in the window, btw, noting that their unlimited texting plan now costs $9.99... just wanted to pass the info on. :) I don't think I'm likely to exceed the 400 I have now though.

    However, I note the my-tmobile website still lists this feature at $14.99.... so one might need to call T-Mobile.
     
  16. brinycbri macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #17
    I have the iphone now, and switched from tmobile to att...i have to say att is so much worse that tmobile..tmobile had better support and better quality and less dropped calls..im in nyc
     
  17. mongoose8p thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #18
    i know att is terrible compared to tmobile thats why i refuse to buy the iphone until the unlocks come out they are bad enough for internet and home phone.... ill wait the next couple weeks out see what happens with the unlocks and the 9.99 unlimited text is great news i send/recieve bout 1200 texts a month so i need the unlimited i can't wait to buy my refurbished iphone and get the good service and customer support of tmobile

    Does anyone know if this internet plan is like edge or just at hotspots its worded strangly its ten dollars less a month than the unlimited this is why i ask

    Hotspot-
    Make unlimited connections with unlimited Internet and T-Mobile HotSpot access for your laptop. T-Mobile HotSpots are conveniently located nationwide at Starbucks coffeehouses, FedEx Kinko's Office and Print Centers, and numerous airports.
     

Share This Page