T-Mobile 'Digits' - Pretty friggin awesome!

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Lloydbm41, Dec 13, 2016.

  1. Lloydbm41 macrumors 601

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #1
    Got in on the Beta program and now my Gear S3 is completely independent of my phone, while sharing the same phone number. (Similar to ATT number sync)

    My Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 wifi version, can now receive and place calls with my cell number and can send and receive texts (including iMessages) on my tablet.

    If you are a T-Mobile customer, I highly encourage you to sign up for this program. I had to wait a week, because the program is in Beta with an expected release to the public in Jan or Feb. This program works with any OS and any OEM.

    Link to info: http://www.androidcentral.com/what-t-mobile-digits-and-why-do-i-want-it
     
  2. M5RahuL macrumors 68030

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    I signed up but still waiting for the official invite to use it from TMO
     
  3. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
  4. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #4
    I was already planning on switching to T-Mobile but this makes it even sweeter.
     
  5. mi7chy macrumors 601

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #5
    This is my backup plan for adding Gear S3 Frontier to my ecosystem since Hangouts dialing/SMS/MMS doesn't exist on Tizen AFAIK but have to port my Google Voice #s to Tmobile.
     
  6. bgro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    South Florida
  7. rhinosrcool macrumors 65816

    rhinosrcool

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #7

    Yeah, I don't believe it does. However, if your an Android user, it's pretty nice.
     
  8. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 601

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #8
    You are correct, it does not. I was sending texts to my wife's phone and thought it was going through iMessage, but the bubbles weren't showing up blue (so not iMessage).
     
  9. bgro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    South Florida
    #9
    Thanks for clarifying. Curious to see how this turns out as I have to carry two phones one for my business the other personal. This would be a great service if it works how I'm imagining.
     
  10. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #10
    I forgot all about this. Just started both the Betas of "one number on multiple devices" and "multiple numbers on one device" a couple days ago. So far so good. I'm still working out the kinks.

    I hope they make the browser setup into an actual desktop app.
     
  11. Septembersrain Contributor

    Septembersrain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    It says it is free aside from taxes and regulatory fees. I wonder how much those add to your bill?
     
  12. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #12
    Probably a couple dollars at most.
     
  13. Septembersrain Contributor

    Septembersrain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Thanks. I was thinking about trying it out.
     

Share This Page