iPhone T-mobile dumbphone sim in iphone with NO data?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Yoshi Yogurt, Sep 27, 2012.

  1. Yoshi Yogurt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #1
    So I bought an iphone 3g 16gb from a friend for $50 hoping to use it on T-mobile.

    So far I've jailbroken and ran ultrasn0w(which appears to have worked.) I'm ready to put the SIM from my t-mobile dumbphone in, I just need to know 2 things.

    1. Will I be charged for data if 3g is off and cellular data is switched to off? My family plan is ONLY calling and texting, so I CANNOT use any data! I plan on using wifi only.

    2. Must anything else be done for calling and texting to work?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Calling and texting will work fine with nothing to do.
    As long as you have data turned off then you should be ok. It wont use any carrier data. To be sure you can even call Tmobile and have them put a data block on that line so even if you entered the correct apn settings and enabled data it still wouldnt be able to use any.
     
  3. Yoshi Yogurt, Sep 28, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2012

    Yoshi Yogurt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #3
    What if I simply leave the APN settings blank or remove them if the SIM card puts any? Should be impossible for the phone to even access data ever and calling/texting should still work right?

    Thanks for the quick answer, I'm really hoping T-mobile doesn't add data simply because they may detect I'm on an iphone, they've been pretty good about not charging anything when I've hit the internet browser on accident on my dumbphone.(No charges.)

    If they do detect it, I hope they don't charge for wi-fi use either simply because their SIM card is in. I've read somewhere that someone was charged for using wifi data on a similar set up to mine, but I'm sure they must have been mistaken....

    EDIT: Since data is disabled will I still be able to set up MMS or will that use data? This is just an extra and not something I absolutely need.
     
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    MMS is data, so no you can't use that.

    No they won't charge for wifi, they can see if its a iphone, but as long as you have data switched off, they won't charge cause you are not using data, if you are so worried over data usage do as Applejuiced suggested, have it blocked at Tmobile.
     
  5. Yoshi Yogurt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #5
    One last thing... does the iphone need to be off to put the sim card in or can I just plop it on there while it's on and running?
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Yes, if you remove the apn data settings then it wont be able to connect.
    Not sure if it automaticly gets entered when you put the sim in. I doubt it.
    Tmobile doesnt add any mandatory iphone data on your plan if you dont want or use one. That's Verizon, Sprint and AT&T.
    They dont care if you use an iphone on their network, actually they encourage iphone users to switch to Tmobile.
    And no you dont get charged from any carrier when you use wifi.
    No, MMS will not work without carrier data.

    You can pop in and out the sim without turning the phone off.
     
  7. Yoshi Yogurt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #7
    What about recieving an MMS or even voicemails?

    Will I just not recieve MMS messages if anyone actually tries to send me any?

    I read somewhere that voicemails use data, but my old phone was able to use them just fine without a data plan or anything.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    You will get voicemails. You just gotta call in and put in your pin to listen to them. Regural voicemail box does not use data. The old school way, no visual voicemail. Visual voicemail is what does use data but you cant get that feature with tmobile.
    And yes MMS messages send to you will just never arrive to your phone.
     
  9. Yoshi Yogurt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #9
    OK, hmm I wouldn't be able to receive group messages or pictures without MMS, so is there anyway you can set up the iphone's carrier settings to include the MMS APN and NOT the Data APN, or must both be entered for MMS to work?

    I'm looking at a guide for setting up T-mobile data that says this...

    Tap on “Cellular Data Network”
    Set the following configuration:

    APN: epc.tmobile.com
    Username: Leave Blank
    Password: Leave Blank
    Set the following configuration under MMS:

    APN: epc.tmobile.com
    Username: Leave Blank
    Password: Leave Blank
    MMSC: http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
    MMS Proxy: 216.155.165.50:8080
    MMS Max Message Size: 1048576
    MMS UA Prof URL: http://www.apple.com/mms/uaprof.rdf
    Tap on the Home button to save and exit out of Settings


    I already receive picture messages on my old phone, so this shouldn't be an issue while switching to an iphone should it? Keep the Top(Data) APN blank to prevent apps from using data instead of Wifi and have the MMS one running to receive MMS?

    Would this actually work or this just a crackpot idea?
     
  10. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #10
    the latter…

    MMS uses data, so you pay for it, although its not that expensive.
    What really eats into data is streaming vids or youtube.

    Your choice, either use data and pay or switch it off or block it.
     
  11. TB07-NJ, Sep 29, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2012

    TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #11
    My wife has an iPhone 4 on T-Mobile pre-pay (pay per minute plan (not the monthly plan), with no data) and has had no problem using SMS and MMS. We bought a $100 card good for 1000 minutes or text and good for 1 year (or 1000 mins). They do charge more for an MMS then regular text. That's the beauty of the "pay per minute" plan. She's used the same 1000 minute card for close to a year and there is still ~$30 left on it. Once the year nears the end just adding $10 extends it for another FULL year so it is costing us under $9/month for her service.

    If you are not on pre-paid it MIGHT make a difference but on pre-pay they don't charge you for data because you can't use it even if you wanted to since your sim is not provisioned for data. We've had data "ON" for months with no charges. If you try using the browser it just sends you to a T-Mo "intercept" page saying you need a data plan.

    We did have to configure something to get MMS to work but don't remember what it was, however I did find it through Google search.

    Edit: I do not believe they can identify it as an iPhone just as AT&T cannot identify a T-Mobile Galaxy S3 because the IMEI's aren't in their system.
     
  12. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #12
    MMS uses the data part, that is also why it costs more.

    Apparently you have your data blocked at the carrier side, so you get referred to the intercept site.

    Maybe it is possible to set it up like you did, a phone call to the carrier would get you the answer.

    The IMEI is used to track blacklisted phones, upon connection to a cell tower the phone identifies iteself by IMEI to the carrier, so yes they can see what kind of phone you are using.
     

Share This Page