T-Mobile (Germany) iPhone 4 in T-Mobile U.S. 3G Network.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Amazing Iceman, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. Amazing Iceman macrumors 68040

    Amazing Iceman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Location:
    Florida, U.S.A.
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    - Is it possible to use T-Mobile (Germany) iPhone 4 in the U.S. on the T-Mobile 3G Network?
    - Will it need to be hacked or unlocked to be able to use it?

    As you all know, AT&T iPhones only connect in EDGE on the T-Mobile network due to the use of a different frequency. I believe voice still connects in 3G, but data will connect in EDGE.

    Thanks!
     
  2. lsvtecjohn3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #2
    Yes you can use it if you unlock it and you will not get 3G
     
  3. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #3
    It will need to be unlocked to accept the T-Mobile (US) SIM card and no, you will not get 3G service.

    T-Mobile (US) 3G network is not the same as T-Mobile (Germany) network.

    Remember, all iPhone 4's are the same.
    Doesn't matter where you got it, they all have the same radio.
     
  4. Amazing Iceman thread starter macrumors 68040

    Amazing Iceman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Location:
    Florida, U.S.A.
    #4
    Thank you. I also just found an old thread that has a post from you explaining the frequency used by the iPhone and T-Mobile in the U.S. and Germany.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=362033
     

Share This Page