T-mobile iPhone full price comes unlocked?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Kulfon, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. Kulfon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #1
    Folks, I want to order a full price iPhone and need to be sure it comes unlocked. Will T-Mobile full price option work? It used to be the case in the past. Thanks!
     
  2. bchreng macrumors 6502a

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #2
    Full price AT&T, TMobile and Verizon phones purchased through Apple should be unlocked. Those purchased direct from the carriers are all locked I believe.
     
  3. Kulfon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
  4. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #4
    using the t-mobile phone directly from apple with a cricket sim right now.
     
  5. Harvey Specter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #5
    iphone 6S?
     
  6. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #6
    Yes
     
  7. noles1983 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #7
    I'm using tmobile version i paid in full on cricket. no issues.
     
  8. Appl3FTW macrumors 601

    Appl3FTW

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #8
    Guaranteed full priced T-Mobile is unlocked. I put my att sim at a T-Mobile full purchased priced and I made a phone call with no problem.
     
  9. shadesofearl macrumors newbie

    shadesofearl

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #9
    Bought a T-Mobile full-price at Apple store today in San Diego - confirming is unlocked, works with my wife's AT&T SIM card.
     
  10. Kulfon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #10
    Thanks a lot! Does it come with a sim card or without?
     
  11. unclemax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #11
    It does come with a SIM card. I just threw away mine before activating.
     
  12. CVUSA macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #12
    Did you activated the TB iPhone at Apple Store ?
     
  13. throwthedice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    #13
    ...and does WiFi calling work on a full price TMob phone purchased from Apple?
     
  14. unclemax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #14
    This is definitely the case. It even works on my iPhone 5c bought in the UK, which is technically not 100% compatible with T-Mobile US network. It's purely a software feature.
     
  15. throwthedice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    #15
    Right, I kinda meant to ask if you need any special "TMob Bloatware" to get it to work.

    I'm assuming since the phone is "unlocked" I won't see any bloatware.. :oops:
     
  16. unclemax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #16
    No, the software I was talking about is part of iOS. So if it sees you're on T-Mobile you can enable WiFi calling by going to Settings --> Phone.
     
  17. throwthedice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    #17
    Phew! That's reassuring!
     
  18. unclemax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #18
    And, by the way, iOS is not as bloatware-friendly as Android. Maximum what carriers can do is offer their dedicated apps on App Store that can be installed and deleted as any other apps.
     
  19. hyspace macrumors newbie

    hyspace

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    #19
    Did you try your cellular data? I brought a T-Mobile full-price iPhone6S online, and the cellular data doesn't work without an extra profile, also the personal hotspot doesn't work.
     
  20. Kulfon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #20
    I ordered today a full price T-Mobile iPhone 6s 64 GB from apple.com

    The order says: iPhone 6s 64GB Space Gray (GSM). Nothing else...no reference to T-Mobile or any other carrier. Hope it will work with my GSM network.
     
  21. Newtons Apple macrumors Pentium

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #21
    Both my T-Mo iPhones from Apple are working perfectly on the ATT network.
     
  22. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #22
    I've got my T-Mobile Apple.com 128GB 6S Plus on AT&T right now. It is missing Band 30, but that is not a big deal yet.

    To the point though, it's unlocked absolutely.
     
  23. dinho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    #23
    Do you need to hook up the Iphone 6S to itunes to unlock it or does it comes unlocked out of the box ?
     

Share This Page