T-Mobile MMS APN

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Prime85, Mar 18, 2013.

  1. Prime85 macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #1
    Does anyones else's APN seem to delete its self every so often? I always have to reenter it.
     
  2. PhilMcCracken macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
  3. Am3r1ca16 macrumors 6502a

    Am3r1ca16

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
  4. ceevee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    #4
    This has worked for me. My MMS APN used to delete itself as well. I left Cellular Data settings and Internet Tethering settings all blank. Both data and MMS still works for me.

    Use this for MMS APN along with all the other usual MMS settings: epc.t-mobile.com

    The dash is not a typo. Using epc.tmobile.com will work for MMS as well but will delete itself.

    Please update this thread if this solves the self deleting problem.

    This will not work for MMS APN, only data APN. Apple does not allow carrier settings to set MMS APN.
     
  5. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #5
  6. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #6
  7. SoLongAndroid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    #7
    I have a i5 on T-Mobile since right before Christmas. I have been using MMS since I got it. I followed the instructions from a youtube video for the settings, I don't remember what I filled in.


    The only thing that is filled in is MMSC and MMS UA Prof URL everything else is blank, not sure if it was filled in or not, but I have never had problems with MMS. Does this mean it's fine if those are blank or should they be filled, and if I am receiving pics is it because of wifi, I can't keep track of whether or not the pics I receive are done on wifi or not.


    Thanks for any info.
     
  8. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #8
    For the iPhone 5, T-mobile recommends setting the MMS APN to internet2.voicestream.com and to remove the proxy.

    And, it will get deleted when you install an update. Other than that, I haven't seen my settings get lost.
     
  9. NewAnger macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #9
    This is what works for me on my iPhone 4S. Keep in mind other phones on T-Mobile may have different settings. My Nexus 4 only has the APN name and MMSC, MCC and MNC fields filled in. Tethering is already enabled on the phone so there is no need for a tethering field in the APN profile.
     
  10. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #10
    The time I was on tmobile I don't remember getting charged for tethering.
     
  11. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    They don't charge for tethering on iPhones. Probably because it's still an unsupported device on their network. I would imagine that if you are in an area that has consistent 3G and burn a lot of data tethering, then they might catch on. When I had a 4S with them I used to tether about 1GB worth of data per month with no issues.
     

Share This Page