Resolved T-Mobile MMS fix, Finally!

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by xhArRiSoNxD, Jun 19, 2012.

  1. xhArRiSoNxD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    So I just so happened to finally check to see if MMS worked on my iPhone while using T-Mobile on it and guess what, It works!!

    I am running iOS 6 beta 1 on an officially unlocked iPhone 4.

    I added the regular setting to my cellular data section in the setting and now it works!

    Thank you :apple:!

    ------

    Also I hated the idea of doing that backup hack to fix it. I actually was thinking of switching back to AT&T just because of SMS. Well considering it, I like T-mobile. For some reason in my house only I get little to no service in my house. Whats the point of having a iPhone and you cant even use it to talk on in your own home?

    Another this is my 3G on T-mobile works too. I get about 3.7mbps down and 1.14 up. When I first connected I got up to 6mbps down but when I checked just now the highest I got was 3.7. Just some info I thought I would spread with the forum. I normally dont post much so thought I'd say something useful when I do.


    Ohhh just remembered. The last thing I need them to fix is iMessage. I don't like how they need to use a international number to verify my number. So I cant use that new unified message feature that iOs 6 uses. Hopefully they'll change it in the new betas.
    Basically right now my phone number wont tie to the iMessage account so I have to use my email to even iMessage!

    Feel free to comment and let me know if this works now for you.
     
  2. PaulDoFish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2
    woah wait, you get 3G service from T-mobile on your iphone?? :confused:
     
  3. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #3
    Yea that is what he said, he gets 3G service on tmobile. Tmobile is reframing their cellular towers from 1700Mhz to 1900Mhz frequencies in order to make their HSPA/3G service compatible with a variety of more devices (including the iPhone). Check online about this new reframing process.

    PS: they are referring to the process as "refarming"
     
  4. PaulDoFish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #4
    Wow cool!! though I just tried enabling 3G on my factory unlocked 3GS but still getting no service... guess t-mobile hasn't rolled out their new network in here Southern California yet :(

    But this is exciting news. I wonder why i havent heard this yet lol
     
  5. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #5
  6. jmcgeejr macrumors 6502

    jmcgeejr

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
  7. xhArRiSoNxD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #7
    Wow, I thought more people would be excited about finally being able to receive picture messages! But 3G is also a big deal.
    They only have one tower near my house that suports 3G. when I go far out I go back to edge.
    Luckily the 3G tower is about a block away from my house, and I still get it at my place of work.

    Also I thought I read somewhere that T-mobile should have all towers 3G capable by the end of the year. I think it was on Macrumors.


    But back to my post. Picture messages finally work on T-mobile on iOS 6!
     
  8. jdlorinser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #8

    What settings did you use?
     
  9. xhArRiSoNxD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
  10. jdlorinser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #10
    Ok I used those settings and I can Receive MMS but not send any. Just wont go through.
     
  11. xhArRiSoNxD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #11
    And you have iOS 6?
     
  12. jdlorinser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #12
    Yes, ios 6 beta 2 on a factory unlocked 4S running on Tmobile.
     
  13. xhArRiSoNxD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #13
    Hmm.. I have an iPhone 4. That's probably why.
     
  14. olhafer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #14

    what settings did you have to change in order to get the mms to work?
     
  15. Mr Hill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #15
    I've tested and used these settings on an iPhone 3G, 3GS, 4, and 4S with T-Mobile and MMS works every time.

    Cellular Data
    APN: internet2.voicestream.com
    Username
    Password

    MMS
    APN: epc.tmobile.com
    Username
    Password
    MMSC: http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
    MMS Proxy: 216.155.165.050
    MMS Max Message Size: 614400
    MMS UA Prof URL: http://wap.sonyericsson.com/UAprof/W800iR101.xml

    Internet Tethering
    APN: internet2.voicestream.com
    Username:
    Password:

    I'm currently running iOS 5.1.1 on a factory unlocked iPhone 4S. Haven't updated to iOS 6 yet because as of now I can't find anyway to activate iMessage and Facetime without jailbreaking so I'm waiting for an iOS 6 jailbreak to be released first.
     
  16. JuneBugg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    APN Settings, i



    I am currently on iOS 6 (unlocked [AT&T sanctioned] with T-Mobile) and have both FaceTime & iMessage activated w/o a jailbreak. What kind of plan do you have?

    I also tried the apn settings quoted above and it worked with an iMessage (failed but sent as a text message) but not as a standalone text message...do you know why that might be?

    Please assist if possible...
     
  17. Mr Hill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #17
    I'm on the Value 500 Min plan with 2GB 4g data.
    When you tried to send an mms without iMessage was the camera icon grayed out or were you able to select it?

    Also for your FaceTime and iMessage activation did you just go into settings and toggle the on button to get them to activate? Mine would just stay on 'waiting for activation' and send an international text which charged to my account but still didn't activate so I had to jailbreak. Would love to update to ios 6 but don't want to lose iMessage.
     
  18. JuneBugg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    The MMS settings worked out after all :) I went back and double checked what I typed in and there were one or two things missing. But thanks sooo much!!

    In regards to iMessage & FaceTime... I didn't really have to mess with the settings. As soon as I signed in with my apple ID after the iOS 6 install, I received a notification that a text would be sent in order for iMessage/FaceTime to activate and that fees may apply and it's been working since...
     

Share This Page