iPhone T-Mobile Mobile Internet Sim in iPhone 4S

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sovereign, Nov 11, 2013.

  1. sovereign macrumors 6502

    sovereign

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #1
    I have a 200MB T-Mobile data sim which is activated and working in a 3rd Gen Verizon iPad. When I try to use it in my unlocked AT&T iPhone 4S I am redirected to the my.t-mobile.com site and cannot access other content. I have changed the APN on the iPhone to fast.t-mobile.com. Any ideas on how to get this sim to work in an iPhone?
     
  2. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #2
    I'm pretty sure you can't. The data plan is tied to your iPad and your iPad only. Upon registration it uses the IMEI number of the specific device to activate.
     
  3. sovereign thread starter macrumors 6502

    sovereign

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #3
    Is this solely because it is a free plan or is it a T-Mobile thing in general?
     
  4. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #4
    I'm assuming because it is a free plan. It is for tablets only and its tied to that specific device.
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    It's because the data plan is meant for an ipad
     
  6. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    You can use the sim in any device that uses a sim. I use mine between my iPad, Nexus 7 and 4S all the time. The phone won't know its only a data sim.

    ----------

    Wrong T-Mobile doesn't not care what device you use the data sim in. It's a phone sim attached to a phone plan that you can't use in an iPad.
     
  7. sovereign thread starter macrumors 6502

    sovereign

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #7
    Just tried it again. Below is the page that comes up. I have called T-Mobile and I have used less than 2mb of data out of 200mb. I wonder how it is working for you?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. JackieInCo, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #8
    There is something wrong with the account. There should be nothing preventing you from using that sim in any device.

    Get a new sim and set up a new account. Again, I share my sim between my 4S, Nexus 7 and iPad all the time.

    Sorry it took so long to reply, search was disabled on the site so I could not find this post.

    I just verified that it still works by using my iPad T-Mobile sim in my 4S. It works perfect.
     
  9. nasapunk88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #9
    are u using the 200MB free plan that they just started offering? Using this new feature seems to disable a lot of the normal things from working. I know i use their prepaid sims between my devices but can't get this 200MB deal to work
     
  10. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    Yes, the 200MB free plan is all that is active on this sim at the moment.
     
  11. sovereign thread starter macrumors 6502

    sovereign

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #11
    Trying another sim. There are no options in Settings to enable the account. I set up a friend's Verizon iPad Air with a T-Mobile sim yesterday and all of the options for setting up the free account are through Settings. With my iPad 3, the pages below appear in Safari:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page