Resolved T-mobile to prepaid advice needed

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by limatime42, Oct 5, 2015.

  1. limatime42, Oct 5, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2015

    limatime42 macrumors member

    limatime42

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #1
    Ok so I just paid off my T-mobile iPhone. The signal on TMo is AWFUL where I live so I am looking to switch to a prepaid network. Apparently PagePlus (which works great) will no longer activate a SIM on a TMo phone. What are my options at this point? I live in South Carolina btw.

    Edit: Can I get an AT&T sim on Straight Talk if my device is unlocked?
     
  2. rigormortis, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #2
    verizon should activate your t-moble iPhone 6+ because it is a cdma device.

    verizon might activate your phone as long as its a post paid account and not a prepaid one

    prepaid plans do not give you the roaming agreements that post paid members have. prepaid plans have lower priority of cellular traffic then a post paid plan


    AT&T and straight talk will work. you should try the straight talk imei checker. you can use any straight talk sim as long as its not sprint, you can get verizon service from straight talk where page plus won't give it to you.

    i checked my tmobile unlocked iPhone 6+ yesterday with their imei checker , so i know this to be true. that phone isn't the newer sim free one that works on sprint

    the one thing i don't like about straight talk is they promise a set amount of data, and still put in a clause in your service that says we can cancel your plan if you watch netflix or stream music.



    is there a way you can activate page plus on another phone and use its sim in your iPhone 6+ ?

    a lot of people like Circket. you get the same AT&T lte network, but its limited to 9 mbit or something.


    it doesn't look like band 12 is available in south carolina so the option of buying a newer 6s or 6s+ won't solve your problems, even if T-mobile promises to unlock it before its paid off


    your signature said you had a 6+ now if your talking about an older 5,5s, or 5c you cant get verizon
     
  3. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #3
    man i would get a second opinion. those people at page plus steered you wrong


    i went to page plus imei checker and i gave it the MEID off of my iPhone 6+ , and tis the same iPhone that you have and it says it will work.

    if t-mobile unlocked it, i would just go ahead and buy the page plus sim card and activate it.

    don't forget to ask for your # to be ported. you will need the phone number, and billing passwords / pin numbers for the port.

    i think you should stay wth t-mobile . but if you cant get service or don't want to put up with free wifi calling , go ahead and switch

    just remember sprint won't activate it, because that version of iPhone didn't come with the spark channels
     
  4. Bee1776 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #4
     
  5. Bee1776 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #5
    I use Straight Talk SIM IN MY iPhone 5s and plan to use it in my 6s+ when it ships.
     
  6. Bee1776 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #6
    If you need to change APN just go to unlockit.co.nz and add the newest APN settings. Works great for me using Att SIM from Straight Talk in my iPhone 5S. Also worked great n my 4S. Will use the same SIM in my 6S+ when it gets here. I like the unlimited everything for $45.00 a month!
     
  7. limatime42 thread starter macrumors member

    limatime42

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #7
    I checked the ESN checker and it says my phone's compatible. I'm going with Pageplus. I appreciate everyone's help!
     
  8. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #8
    with these new iPhones i don't think its even necessary to change apn settings, they seem to be able to get them off of wifi and add them all by themselves.

    but i did see h20 telling people on iOS 9 to get a new apn
     

Share This Page