Carrier T-Mobile to Sprint

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ZmarkJ, Sep 27, 2015.

  1. ZmarkJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    #1
    Hello! I preordered an iPhone 6S Plus from T-Mobile but now, we might be switching over to Sprint. Will it work? I heard that Sprint uses a different model of iPhones... Thanks!
     
  2. Chatter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Location:
    Uphill from Downtown
  3. ParDigital macrumors newbie

    ParDigital

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    #3
    It will not. The T-Mobile chipset doesn't contain the CDMA chip needed for access to sprints 2 and 3G networks.
    That being said, switching from
    T-Mobile to sprint is a bad idea to me personally
     
  4. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    It has all the hardware to work. I know for a very long time sprint was very particular over what phones they allowed on their network regardless of whether they technically work. I THINK that policy may have changed. Either eay, this is a good question for sprint.

    Keep in mind that if you did a lease wth T-Mobile you will need to pay off the phone and wait for them to unlock it. The only way for an unlocked T-Mobile phone out of the box right now, at least as far as I know, is through the Apple Store.
     
  5. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Are you certain of this? In pretty certain there are only two models of each device in the us now, the only difference being a band 30 lte (for att)
     
  6. ParDigital macrumors newbie

    ParDigital

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    #6
    I'm fairly certain. I believe there are two models as well, one that will work with Verizon and Sprint, and the other that works with ATT and Tmobile
     
  7. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    That wasn't my understanding at all. Let me see if I can find the specifications. I believe they're on Apple.com
     
  8. Akack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    T mobile, Verizon, Sprint are all the same model for the 6S and 6S+ according to Apple.com.

    Question is if Sprint will activate it.


    http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
     
  9. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
  10. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    That page doesn't load for me, however the link I posted seems to imply something else. I was under the impression they would all work on all networks, until I found that.

    Edit: I was looking at iPhone 6. What a tool lol. Give me a sec.
     
  11. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    Here we go. Scratch what I said before. There ARE only two models and both should technically be fully compatible.

    http://www.apple.com/iphone-6s/specs/



    Model A1633*

    Model A1634*

    LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30)

    TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)

    TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)

    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

    Model A1688*

    Model A1687*

    LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29)

    TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)

    TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)

    CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

    All models

    802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi‑Fi with MIMO

    Bluetooth 4.2 wireless technology

    NFC
     

Share This Page