T-Mobile USA Micro Sim?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by legaleye3000, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #1
    Any way to get a micro sim to work with my T-Mobile USA account?

    Thanks
     
  2. Taheen99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #2
    I may be wrong, somebody correct me if I am.

    Even though both are GSM, the band used by the iPad for ATT data is not a band that T-Mobile's data network uses. So in short... no.
     
  3. wingnut8 macrumors 65816

    wingnut8

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
  4. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #4
    not yet. later this year t-moble will

    keep in mind it will only get t-moble edge not 3g
     
  5. Nykwil macrumors 65816

    Nykwil

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
  6. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #6
    Yeah even though Apple claims the 3G is unlocked. T-mobile uses a different frequencies for 3G. U would probably be stuck with snail Edge.
     
  7. zinka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #7
    It *is* unlocked, but it doesn't support T-Mobile's frequencies. It supports AT&T and European frequencies.
     
  8. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #8
    I don't think anybody could try it yet since there are no 3G's out there in the wild.

    So, the idea would be to take an iPhone SIM, cut it down to micro-SIM size to use in the iPad, then be able to put the micro-SIM in the adapter so that you could use it back in the iPhone? Would that work? The iPad would just automatically sift out the data portion so that the AT&T network would think it was actually a valid iPhone? Hmmm...I'm not sure about that. AT&T tracks the IMEI number of the device and compares it to the plan- not sure they'd go for that.

    If we're talking buying a T-Mobile data plan, cutting down the SIM to use in an iPad, it would be EDGE-only, and would be $50/month, and 2 year contract. You'd have to REALLY want to use T-Mobile (or have to)...
     
  9. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #9
    I heard a rumor that 3G is only supported and it would not back down to Edge if 3G was unavailable...... Anyone hear that too?
     
  10. iLiveUdie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #10
    I hope that is not true
     
  11. zinka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #11
    Seems unlikely. There are lots of parts of the country without 3G coverage.
     

Share This Page