T mobile wifi calling

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by tl01, Sep 29, 2015.

  1. tl01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    The rep at t mobile said you can only use wifi calling if you have a phone you bought from t mobile directly...and not say an unlocked iPhone from the apple upgrade program. Is this true?
     
  2. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    That doesn't make sense to me. The APN settings should install once you have a sim in and are connecting to the appropriate network. Following this one to see what I can learn though.
     
  3. chasescott66 macrumors member

    chasescott66

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #3
    Not true, I bought my phone at Best Buy(bought the Verizon Model) and Wifi Calling works just fine!
     
  4. karmamule macrumors 6502

    karmamule

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Waltham, MA
    #4
    I bought mine through the Apple Store and it is using wifi calling so that rep is wrong.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Completely false.
    Any unlocked iphone as soon as you put in a T-Mobile sim and carrier settings install then wifi calling becomes available.
     
  6. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #6
    As others have said, you were given bad info. You need to go back to the store and pimp slap that rep!
     
  7. tl01 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #7
    Glad to hear she was wrong. It is a big component of my consideration in switching carriers. Thanks all!

    So far in an urban area...and 6 hours into my test of t mobile it is so much faster than att. I just wish I could predict where it will lack and I will get frustrated!;)
     
  8. unclemax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    #8
    It will lack in rural areas. In some places depending on the locality you'll either have no signal while having an AT&T mast in sight or it will roam to AT&T (calls and texts ok, data - crippled/off)
     

Share This Page