Tab bar covers top part of some windows (including LibreOffice)

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Stewaj03, Feb 20, 2017.

  1. Stewaj03 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    #1
    Hi,

    Recently I have noticed that the tab feature inside Sierra is covering the top part of a windows text/options in certain apps. I have attached a screenshot of LibreOffice 5.2.5's preferences where you can this in action. With this app being recent I don't see how this would be missed if its something they need to program in themselves.

    Any ideas why this is happening and how to fix/disable it?

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    I could be wrong but this looks like some sort of conflict with the Java Runtime environment.
     
  3. Stewaj03 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    #3
    Not sure as I don't have Java installed on my machine.
     
  4. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #4
    If you have your screen resolution set to scaled, adjust and test.
     
  5. kalandaka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    #5
    Same issue here. LibreOffice's own toolbar icons are covered by Sierra's tab-bar. No scaling for resolution used. (MacBookPro Retina 2015).
     
  6. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #6
    It appears that what you're seeing has been reported as a LibreOffice bug. The screenshot linked in the bug report's first post matches @Stewaj03 's. I don't have a Sierra installation so I'm unable to test the possible workarounds.
    https://bugs.documentfoundation.org/show_bug.cgi?id=103486

    In particular, read this post for the reported workarounds:
    https://bugs.documentfoundation.org/show_bug.cgi?id=103486#c14
     
  7. kalandaka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    #7
    @rshrugged: Thanks for pointing me to the LibreOffice forums. The issue remains unsolved but I am happy to live with the workarounds and my choices – knowing the bug is in LibreOffice's camp and wiill hopefully be addressed in the near future.
     
  8. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #8
    You're welcome. Glad I could help. I haven't used LO for quite a while. They had a bunch of good contributors back then, probably still do. It's not easy to keep up with OS changes.
     
  9. cswifx Suspended

    cswifx

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    #9
    Forcing some apps to open with tabs also creates odd behaviors. One such app would be GIMP.

    It's most likely something the developers forgot to check.
     

Share This Page