tab key stop??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kakyoism, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. kakyoism macrumors newbie

    kakyoism

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #1
    I'm new mac user and found that a lot of the mac dialogs don't have tab-stops or it could be that I was trying to use the PC-style tab-stopping (simply press the tab key).

    I wonder if Mac forces user to use mouse to hit certain buttons...
    or it's just a different set of key control...

    Somebody help plz.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. kakyoism, Nov 29, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2010

    kakyoism thread starter macrumors newbie

    kakyoism

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #3
    I'm using P4V (perforce)
    When creating a new changelist, after inputing the detail, I can't move my focus to the OK button with keyboard ....

    And also when copying files in Finder, when I try to replace the existing files, I can't tab-stop to the Replace button either...
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Does tabbing work with other apps, such as Safari, iTunes, TextEdit, etc? If so, it's a limitation of P4V.
     
  5. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #5
    You have to turn it on first by going to System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts > Full Keyboard Access.
     
  6. kakyoism, Nov 29, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2010

    kakyoism thread starter macrumors newbie

    kakyoism

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #6
    No, just tested, with Safari, if I try to bookmark a page, for instance, I can't tab-stop to the bookmark-title edit control or the bookmark folder combo-box...

    Interestingly, I can tab-stop to controls inside the web interface such as this forum...

    Thanks a lot!
    That did the trick!

    BTW, how to mark this thread as SOLVED as in the Ubuntu forum?
    From the UI setup, it seems that this forum uses a similar system with Ubuntu forum.
     

Share This Page