Tables in TextEdit

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by paieye, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. paieye macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #1
    I may have asked this before, in which case please accept my apology, but it has been a trouble for a long time.

    How in a TextEdit table do you insert a row or a column ?

    If it is impossible, is there any other application for OSX that would enable one to do this ?
     
  2. CreatorCode macrumors regular

    CreatorCode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Location:
    US
    #2
    For an existing table, click within the table, and then choose Format > Table.... You should get a floating palette with fields for the number of rows and columns. Click the stepper arrows to add rows/columns, or enter a number.
     
  3. paieye thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #3
    Thank you, but, as I said, I do not want to add rows or columns, I want to insert them.
     
  4. paieye thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #4
    I am beginning to wonder if the answer is to use Bean instead of TextEdit.
     
  5. paieye thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #5
    No, the answer has proved to be to use Numbers. Perfect.
     
  6. paieye thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #6
    I was too hasty. Bean is far more satisfactory for anyone needing tables of information not involving formulae. It seems to do everything that Textedit does, but also allows one to insert rows.
     

Share This Page