Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

How do you deal with tailgaters?

• Total voters

Fearless Leader

macrumors 68020
Mar 21, 2006
Hoosiertown
this was scary, it was my second time out in my driving school driving the car with an instructor. Our car was clearly marked "Student Driver" implying stay away I'm not very good at this, and normally this works. This guy was about 2 feet behind me at 40 mph, my instructor asked me to pull over, and we switched places.

Coolnat2004

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 12, 2005
I usually slow to about 5 miles below the speed limit if they are tailgating me unreasonably (e.g., when I am going 5 over the speed limit on a residential street with no other traffic). If I am in the left lane of the highway, I pull to the right because it is the passing lane, afterall.

The other day, a guy was following me very close on a very dangerous road. I was in a good mood, so I gradually slowed the car to a dead stop. I sat there for about 5 seconds, while watching him show gestures of confusion. I kept going at the mercy of the car behind him. :D What's funny, is that he backed off after that, likely because he thought I was crazy.

Nermal

Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
In town I'll usually attempt to take a different route to my destination but this obviously involves guesswork. Out in the country I usually use the next slow vehicle bay.

Kamera RAWr

macrumors 65816
May 15, 2007
Sitting on a rig somewhere
Way back when... when I had a nice sporty, fast car... I used to slam on the brakes and then floor it with the gas and speed off :D :p