Take a look at your Console log

Discussion in 'macOS' started by SilentCrs, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. SilentCrs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #1
    Do you see the following:

    10/28/07 1:06:33 AM com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.dyld) Throttling respawn: Will start in 59 seconds
    10/28/07 1:07:33 AM com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.dyld) Throttling respawn: Will start in 59 seconds
    10/28/07 1:08:34 AM com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.dyld) Throttling respawn: Will start in 59 seconds
    10/28/07 1:09:35 AM com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.dyld) Throttling respawn: Will start in 59 seconds
    10/28/07 1:10:39 AM com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.dyld) Throttling respawn: Will start in 56 seconds

    I've seen this on every machine I've installed Leopard to (all Erase and Installs).

    What's going on here?
     
  2. eliacontini macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #2
  3. stannenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    I'm seeing it, too

    What's happening is that the dynamic linker is trying to start up,
    it fails, launchd does its job and tries launching it again, it fails...

    Then launchd notices that it's trying to launch it a lot, and slow
    things down.

    The question is why is the dynamic launcher failing.
     
  4. stannenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #4
    The fix

    Run:

    update_prebinding -force -root /

    FWIW, the problem seems to be triggered by the first sotware update,
    not the initial Leopard install.
     
  5. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Seeing the same thing here.....Leopard on a clean erase and install.

    -Kevin
     
  6. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    Can you explain...what exactly is this command doing?

    -Kevin
     
  7. stannenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #7
    It's a forced update of dyld's cache. It actually runs
    update_dyld_shared_cache.

    Type "man update_prebinding" from Terminal for all
    the gory details.

    Presumably, something is corrupting the cache, and a forced
    rebuild deletes and rebuilds it, eliminating the corruption.
     
  8. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    Ran that command, but still got the errors.

    A reboot seems to have fixed it (for now).

    -Kevin
     
  9. stannenb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #9
    You need to reboot after the update_prebinding. My apologies for leaving that step out.
     
  10. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #10
    NP....thanks for the command. Looks like it worked after all (with the reboot).

    Interesting to see 'why' it's happening.

    -Kevin
     
  11. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #11
    Anyone know why after updates in Leopard that require a reboot (like the QT update or tonights security update)....I still get this error in the Console logs?

    All I have to do is reboot a second time and the message doesn't seem to come back.

    It looks as if it just happens after the first reboot.

    -Kevin
     
  12. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #12
    Just thought I would update this thread. It does look like this is an issue AFTER a software update....as it is still happening for me. I did run into this tech note from Apple:

    http://developer.apple.com/releasenotes/DeveloperTools/RN-dyld/index.html

    The interesting part is this:

    So I am thinking that this is just an issue within Leopard on the first reboot after installing a SU. And it seems to go away after another reboot.

    -Kevin
     

Share This Page