take pictures on the computer

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by AdamRock, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    does anyone know *preferably free* software that will allow me to connect my t2i (550d) to my computer then take pictures on the computer??

    tried searching google but couldn't find anything but i know it exists because ive seen it before a while ago.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    I thought Canon's software allowed you to connect it with the USB cable and do just that?
     
  3. AdamRock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3

    oh wow i'm so dumb.

    i just checked and it does. well im learned my lesson: always install the included CD's
     
  4. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
  5. Smurfed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #5
    I wouldn't recommend that, maybe this was the only time it came useful though. :D

    The Canon CD is pretty good I might say, let's you control the camera's aperture, settings, and even focus for remote shots.
     
  6. AdamRock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6

    yeah, its pretty amazing software and im surprised its free. if i was canon id sell that for like 150$
     
  7. Captpegleg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #7
    Dang Adam, you admitted to reading the manual, AKA RTFM? Be careful, you're on a slippery slope that could take you anywhere. You could end up asking for directions if you're not careful.
     
  8. RHVC59 macrumors 6502

    RHVC59

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    #8
    I found a Sofortbild at http://www.sofortbildapp.com/ when I needed to do a project at work where tethered shooting was a must. Lightroom 3 did not tether my D80 , but Sofortbild did a great job. We had a "Fun Day" at the Museum and I was making "Wanted "posters of kids in their Halloween Costumes. Set the camera on my tripod and aimed it at a background we had set up. When the person sat down I was able to snap the picture from my MPB
    Soforbild saved the image to a folder on my machine. I was able check the focus and expression and decide if I needed a second or third shot or not. I run my action, drop the image in our template, chose the crime, and add a goofy name, and print out their wanted poster on a laser printer on a parchment like paper, in less than a minute and a half per a poster.
    It was a great kid activity. The toughest part was making sure I spelled the kid's name and alleged crimes correctly.
     
  9. nickXedge macrumors 6502

    nickXedge

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #9
    Hey, I saw this thread and thought it would be a neat idea. I'm still very much a novice when it comes to photography, so I like to try all the ideas I see on this forum. However, when I connected my Canon XS (1000D) to my MacBook and opened Image Capture, I opened the "Take Picture" dialog and it only displays a gray box. My camera continually shows that it's busy and I can't take any photos. Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong? Please and thanks!
     
  10. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    Try hitting the space bar or the return button or whatever it says to do. I was reading this thread earlier and decided to try it with my old Rebel XT (350D). When i opened the "Take Picture" box, everything appeared to be grayed out, but when i hit either the space bar or return key, it focused and snapped a picture. I could also set it to an interval, which also worked. So basically, even though everything appeared to be just a gray box, it still worked. It didn't offer me the controls that were discussed earlier in this thread, but it did allow me to take pictures. I may just have to use this for time lapse in the future.
     

Share This Page