take the deal?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rockbouncer91, Oct 25, 2010.

1. rockbouncer91 macrumors newbie

I found a deal where I could get the 13" base mbp for 999, but am hesitant because a refresh may be soon. I have a laptop that works fine for now, but I'm not sure if its better to save $300 and get the current one, or wait and pay more for a newer model... any comments and advice?

2. Tankfantry macrumors regular

Tankfantry

It boils down to a few things.

1. Do you need it now?
    2. Do you have the extra $300 to splash on the newer model?
    3. Will the $999.00 model work for all your intended applications?

3. rockbouncer91 thread starter macrumors newbie

I dont "need" one persay, as my current laptop will suffice for my basic activities, but the deal just seemed pretty enticing and I made some money recently so it seemed like a very fortunate coincidence...

4. deeddawg macrumors 604

I'm no expert, so forgive me if I'm misunderstanding your question, but my understanding is $999 is normal everyday price for a 13" MBP (4GB ram/250GB HDD) at Microcenter if you have one nearby. Similar config is also $1019 at the Apple Refurbished Store.

Point being, don't let the sense of a "great deal" cloud your judgement in terms of assessing whether you need an upgrade now or can wait.

5. Resist macrumors 68030

If you have to ask this question on a forum, then wait to buy. Then again saving $300 in this economy is nothing to sneeze at.

6. Identity Fraud macrumors 6502

Not buying a computer when you one that functions for all your needs saves more.

If you have a laptop that works fine for your needs consider waiting until it ceases to function or you out grow it.

7. rockbouncer91 thread starter macrumors newbie

lollll....

8. DanMacApple macrumors 6502