Taking video clip with isight?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bill4588, May 22, 2007.

  1. bill4588 macrumors 6502a

    bill4588

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #1
    I know you can take pictures using photo booth, but can my Macbook take video clips?
     
  2. apachie2k macrumors 6502

    apachie2k

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    was NYC...now MIAMI
    #2
    in imovie, under sources the isight shows up as one...
     
  3. bill4588 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bill4588

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #3
    yeah i guess that makes sense lol. I just thought iMovie was used to edit video, not create new video. Thanks!
     
  4. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #4
    QT pro also works a treat. :) It's not free, though.
     
  5. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #5
    iMovie is a versatile program :)

    I started making a skate tape using my MacBook, but lack of time brought that project to a halt. What did you plan to do with it, out of interest?
     
  6. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #6
    Shrug. Guess my needs are much much simpler. That and I delete iDVD and iMovie off of my portables. :p I've never really used them and probably never will. :eek:
     
  7. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #7
    battle of the edits, hey? ;)

    They are big programs, so when installing OS X, i tend to leave iDVD out. I use the other ones way too often to delete. But yeah, it all depends on what you do with the computer.
     
  8. tuqqer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #8
    For the longest time, I could never get QT Pro to recognize the iSight (using a G5 2Ghz tower, running latest Tiger). Going to File: New Movie Recording, and an error message would come up saying, "No recording device found. Make sure device is not used by another application."

    I finally figured out that if you were running iChat (which I do 24/7), QT considers that the iSight is being used. Quit iChat, and voilà, QT can record movies.

    Had never used iMovie before, thanks for the tip.
     

Share This Page