TAM remote-control part number?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by CooperBox, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. CooperBox macrumors 6502a

    CooperBox

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    France - between Ricard & Absinthe
    #1
    My TAM - 20th anniversary MAC came without a number of the original accessories, which I hope to rectify over a period of time (understand that some are virtually impossible to find).
    Have just located a source for a remote control with part number 658-0086-A.
    Can anyone please confirm if this is TAM compatible? The photo in the ad and a picture of an original TAM remote appear to be identical.
     
  2. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    That is the correct number for a tam remote. I've got one and it works.
     
  3. CooperBox thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CooperBox

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    France - between Ricard & Absinthe
    #3
    Many thanks for the reply which was very timely. That enabled me to contact the seller who is preparing it for despatch to me.
    Incidently, I was told the remote came with a Mac M1580, the number of which didn't ring any bells with me. I since learn it was the 1993 Mac TV. The remote was new and never used. My next question to the seller was pretty obvious, "did he still have the Mac TV?" The answer was "no, it was trashed some time ago!" I'm still crying over that as, if nothing else, the tuner cards I understand are quite sought after.
    Here's what the tv looked like: (thinks) - I could have found room for that..........

    Mac tv2.jpg
     
  4. CooperBox thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CooperBox

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    France - between Ricard & Absinthe
    #4
    Remote control received, 'as-new' condition. With fresh batteries installed it works a treat.
    Few photos attached.
    Again thanks to DZ/015 for your assistance.



    TAM1 Dec.jpg TAM1 Dec2.jpg
     
  5. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #5
    the same remote is used on most tv equipped macs. my performa 638cd came with the same remote.
     

Share This Page