Tamron 150-600

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MCAsan, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. MCAsan, Jan 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014

    MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    Anyone who shots sports or wildlife going to get one of the Tamron 150-600mm lenses? The are supposed to start shipping on the 17th with a price of $1069. Note that is a Tamron SP (top their) lens with stabilization for Canon Nikon, or Sony mounts. Put that puppy on a crop body and you can get the effective reach of around 900mm...without a TC.

    Can't wait to see one in the flesh.

    http://www.tamron-usa.com/lenses/prod/150600_vc_a011.asp#ad-image-0
     
  2. trewyn15 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #2
    I'm interested in it, but would prefer some good reviews and reviews that aren't in Chinese or Japanese lol
     
  3. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    We will like see more reviews next week with the shipping date of Friday in the States. Given that it is an SP lens, the zoom range, and the price.....it could be a poor man's safari dream lens. The closest zoom lenses to it are likely the Sigma 150-500, 50-500, or Canon 100-400, or Tamron 200-500. I guess this is the first zoom to 600mm.
     
  4. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68000

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    I'm very interested in this lens and will be checking-out the reviews carefully. However, I'm also a firm believer in the old saying "you get what you pay for" so I do wonder about the image quality...we'll see.

    Of course at f/6.3 you'll always need great light to keep the shutter speed up high enough to compensate for the length. But I'm thinking it may beat spending $10k on a Nikon fast 600mm prime plus all the gear to support that weight not to mention wear and tear on back and shoulder muscles.

    ~ Peter
     
  5. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    On my Canon 5DIII I can crank up the ISO to 3200 without noticeable noise. Last safari I shot lions at dusk at 6400 with just a little noise. The point being that you can use a slower speed lens if the body has low noise at higher ISO speeds. And of course you can clean up some of the noise in LR or Nik's Dfine.
     
  6. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68000

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    For me, old habits die hard. Even though the Nikon D600 handles noise well, I still cringe, but shouldn't, every time I go beyond ISO 800.

    Of course you're right MCAsan. With every evolution of a camera body, ISO noise is becoming less of a problem or concern and a fast aperture not as critical.

    This could be a big hit for Tamron – I hope so. Still…the pricing is very aggressive and I find that interesting.
     
  7. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    We were at the NANPA Annual Seminar last spring in Jacksonville. The key event was Art Wolfe receiving a lifetime achievement award. We had to sit through him presenting his best work for over an hour. Yea, it was tough. ;)

    One point he made was how equipment, especially bodies, have changed over the years. He said not that many years ago he would never shoot anything over ISO 800 due to noise. Now with his 1DX he routinely shots at 1600 or 3200 or higher when needed.

    Between these new "fast" bodies and better post processing tools, we can depend less on ultra fast, ultra large and heavy, and ultra expensive glass.
     
  8. Laird Knox macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #8
    But combine those low noise bodies with the ultra fast glass and look out! ;)
     
  9. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    Look out especially in the wallet. :eek: ;)
     
  10. Laird Knox macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #10
    Yup. I just picked up a 24mm f1.4 to go with a D800. I lust after a fast lens over 200mm but suffer extreme sticker shock. ;) Although I have rented the Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 and it is a nice lens. The Nikon big guns are just frightful! :eek:
     
  11. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #11
    The Canon 200-400L zoom has a built in 1.4TC. The price is over $12,000. :eek:

    So a $1069 150-600 is looking better all the time. ;)
     
  12. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #12
    Around 2 kilos. About 1/2 pound heavier than my Sigma 120-400 but around the same price. I can tell you that's a lot to carry around, even in a pack.

    Dale
     
  13. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #13

    So a half of a pound more weight you get 50% more reach. Sounds good to me. Compare that weight to carrying around a 500 or 600 prime. ;)
     
  14. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
  15. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68000

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #15
    Good news and I understand the Canon mount is shipping. I'm looking forward to hearing what you think about.

    ~ Peter
     
  16. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #16
  17. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #17
    Carry a 400/2.8 for a few weeks, and you'll think differently :D

    Paul
     
  18. MCAsan, Jan 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2014

    MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #18
    I dragged around a 500 F4 on two safaris. Never again. At least those were rented in country and I didn't have to shlep it through airports and flights. ;)



    BTW, AF speed test

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uu0FqNdl8Q0
     

Share This Page