Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Velin

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 23, 2008
Hearst Castle
Question relating to the iPad Pro tandem OLED screen. The tech sounds really cool, can’t wait to see one in person.

Assume it looks truly amazing, especially HDR content. I think Apple is the first with this screen tech. Will Apple push this advantage and release a large tandem OLED monitor? How about a tandem OLED television? How long, how difficult, and how expensive to launch it with big screens?

ericwn

macrumors G4
Apr 24, 2016
I am no expert but my guess is that the margins in TVs and monitors is too low for Apple’s liking. Also keep in mind, they think selling you a VisionPro headset is the future.

TheRealAlex

macrumors 68030
Sep 2, 2015
Tandem OLED is the most advanced Display a person can reasonably but today. Owning a 240hz OLED gaming laptop and a 240hz Gaming QD-OLED Display from Gigabyte. OLED is the best.

Reactions: PaperMag

venom600

macrumors 65816
Mar 23, 2003
Los Angeles, CA
2nd Gen QD-OLED (Samsung) and MLA WOLED (LG) TVs can already match or beat the brightness of these displays. OLED TVswill be out that can hit 3000 nits this year, with 4000 not far behind. Heck, MiniLED displays are out that can pass 5000 nits.

cczhu

macrumors member
Aug 4, 2018
wish they'd update the ProDisplay XDR with this new tandem OLED sooner than later, that would be a dream monitor with ProMotion

Isengardtom

macrumors 65816
Feb 14, 2009
wish they'd update the ProDisplay XDR with this new tandem OLED sooner than later, that would be a dream monitor with ProMotion
The price on this will be insane I think. Id be surprised to see it happen soon. I think even the next gen MacBook Pro’s aren’t going OLED yet

TheRealAlex

macrumors 68030
Sep 2, 2015