Tapatalk 2 for iPhone

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Thierry ba, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. Fedorov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
  2. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

    ericrwalker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #3
    Hmmm, thinking of biting the bullet, but I already have the first version. :confused:

    I am such a sucker, I think I am going to give it a shot.
     
  3. Fedorov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #4
    I prefer the cleaner theme and new layout
     
  4. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

    ericrwalker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #5
    Bought and first impressions are good. Reminds me a little of the new FB app and Google app. The clean styling is nice.
     
  5. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #6
    This convinced me:

    The more, the merrier!

    Not.

    I'm buying because the first app is pretty good, in my opinion, and because I got an iTunes gift card recently.
     
  6. Beeplance macrumors 65816

    Beeplance

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    Have never used Tapatalk 1, but consider the new version. Can someone post screenshots of accessing Macrumors using the app? Like when viewing and replying to a thread.. :)
     
  7. Fedorov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #8
    Here are a couple of screenshots ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21357226976.410527.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21357227007.828766.jpg
     
  8. GoCubsGo, Jan 3, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013

    GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #9
    It appears to be improved on the first version. While not always thrilled to shell out money for v1 and v2 twice in the same month, such is life. Retrieving more threads seems to be better now as it seemed a bit inconsistent before to me. the overall look is better as well.
    Before & After

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    One thing though, modifying the post on the new version didn't seem to allow me to add a pic. I had to go to the old version to upload the two pics. That is something I don't like.

    Note the lack of any image upload icon in the new version.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  9. Fedorov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #10
    View attachment 387677

    It's not showing my screenshot thumbnails I just posted - HD version on my iPad is - hopefully will be fixed.

    ----------

    Yes Jessica, image uploading seems a bit flaky, as is displaying them. I'm sure it'll get fixed pretty quick in this new version
     
  10. Beeplance macrumors 65816

    Beeplance

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
  11. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #12
    I don't see your image either. My images are working perfectly from Tapatalk 1. Haven't uploaded from the new version yet. Never mind, I see your images in your post just not in your follow up post.
    Anyway, it's nice but I do wish I could add an image to a post I'm editing. Unless I have completely missed it.
     
  12. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #13
    Uploading this image both to test uploading via app and to point out that push notifications settings now apparently include subscribed topics regardless of whether or not you choose to receive related emails (seems like v1 push was based on email notifications you set up to receive, or at least that's what I gathered).
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Fedorov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #14
  14. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #15
    Except what happens when you edit a post? Can you add a pic? In v1 I can but not in v2, or at least it is not evident.
     
  15. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #16
    Can't do jack when you edit a post, apparently. I saw a "beta testers" thread on their support forum for v2 that had a number of willing participants but apparently none of them caught this, which is a rather large omission, in my opinion.
     
  16. Fedorov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
  17. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #18
    I guess you're right... :rolleyes:
     
  18. Thierry ba thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    Sarajevo, Bosnia
    #19
    Noticed bug, when I click top right corner "Mark forums as read" sometimes on refresh all posts appear again like i didnt do anything.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
     
  19. solo118 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #20
    cant find it on my iphone's app store... weird
     
  20. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #21
    It's a bug that the first one has as well. Or if you read a thread, then refresh, it'll show up again.

    You need to type in "Tapatalk 2", I searched for Tapatalk and was shown the first version.

    I'm still debating if I want to buy it or not. I have Tapatalk and it works just fine, don't see a need to upgrade. I just hope they don't upgrade the iPad version since I just bought it!
     
  21. Fedorov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #22
    Always worth searching the AppStore under the company name Quoord
     
  22. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #23
    I have bad news for you. :p
     
  23. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #24
    That's the one I bought. I was talking about I hope they don't make Tapatalk HD 2
     
  24. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #25
    Oh sorry... that HD was actually a recent "upgrade" from Tapatalk iPad (universal) and I thought that was what you had.

    Now we need some themes to get rid of that hideous orange in both the new apps. :mad:
     

Share This Page