"Tapped" iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by IrQ22, Oct 15, 2016.

1. IrQ22 macrumors newbie

Hi

Newbie here with a strange question.

A girlfriend claims her ex has "tapped" her iPhone. This is the "2nd time" he has done so, yet he lives out of state.

Is this possible?

2. krazirob macrumors regular

krazirob

what do you mean by "tapped"? Did she use the same Apple ID she used when she was with him? Did she ever change her password? Did they share that same Apple ID at one time?

Worse case just reset phone as new phone and create a new Apple ID.

But again what do you mean by "tapped"? Is he saying he can read her texts and what not?

3. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

Newtons Apple

4. fischersd macrumors 601

fischersd

As above - reset with a new Apple ID - also enable two factor authentication - so if anyone tries to log onto that ID from a new browser / computer, you're notified.

Or do you mean "phone tap" in the traditional sense, that he's able to listen to her conversations? (legally, that requires a court order for the authorities to do that...well...unless it's the feds and you're a suspected terrorist - PATRIOT act).
    If he's not in law enforcement or working at her wireless carrier (even so the people that have the knowledge and the access to do this are very few indeed), then I'd suggest she's being a little paranoid.

5. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

Newtons Apple

Yep, agreed. He would have to get local law enforcement with a StingRay to intercept actual phone calls of have someone willing with the carrier. Resetting your phone and changing id is about the best you can do as you can not stop the carrier or StingRay.

6. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

swordfish5736

Creating a new Apple ID seems like a drastic measure. Coming up with a new password and enabling two-factor authentication should be enough to stop someone from logging into your account

7. fischersd macrumors 601

fischersd