Target Disk Mode Help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by haiggy, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I just got a MBP and I'm trying to copy files from my iBook G4 over to my new computer. I've connected the two with a firewire cable and booted the iBook into target disk mode yet no disks show up on my MBP. I've tried restarting my MBP with the cable still plugged in. Anyone know what's up? Anything I could have done wrong? I'm kinda bummed...

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    hhmmm really have no ideas!! did you do the "hold t on restart" or u selected "target disk mode" from system preferences?? maybe try the alternative way and see if that does nething
     
  3. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    I tried both. I also tried to make my MBP the target disk and it didn't work either ??? :confused:
     
  4. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #5
    Can you see the disks in disk utility?
    You might want to try repairing permissions and the disks.
    If this doesn't work, you might have a bum FW port or cable.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    wow far out thats some pretty wierd stuff happening there. uumm why wouldnt that be working!?!??!?!?! it should do. until it starts working you might have to try.................*suspensceful musik*................ethernet..........*/suspencesful musik*......

    might take a while, but at least it would work
     
  6. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Well, that's another problem. I've connected the two and I have tried to copy folders and it will say "Preparing to copy ____ # of items" and then once it finishes preparing them all it gives me a - error message. Also, I've tried transferring over Airport and it will copy some files and then once it gets to a certain file it will give me another - error message. I don't think its a problem with my MBP, 'cause I got the same stupid messages on my iBook. Grrrrr............
     
  7. localghost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #8
    Probably two different problems.

    I used target disk mode a lot, and sometimes (with the bad firewire implementation of my old pismo) it just would not mount. Most times the following helped:

    Shut down (not restart!) both macs, start up without plugging the cable into the mac that’s not in td, wait until it finished booting and login and you see the firewire icon on the other mac, then plug it in.

    BTW your disk is not encrypted (FileVault), or is it?

    The “ethernet problem” seems to be a file that it can’t read or that isn’t really there any more. Try to repair permissions, or simply remember which file it is and exclude it from the transfer.
     
  8. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #9
    Yeah, I've tried to get rid of the files but there are a lot of them. It's odd. Ah well, thanks. I'll try your disk mode advice.
     
  9. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #10
    That didn't work :(
     
  10. localghost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #11
    That’s odd. :mad:

    I just have one more idea: Get a backup utility that is able to skip the file it can’t read/copy while going on with the rest of it – I think carbon copy cloner can do that (it’s free).
     
  11. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    CCC doesn't seem to recognize my drive loaded over AirPort.... hmmm? :(
     
  12. localghost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #13
    um, in this case you might want to hardwire the ethernet connection, haven’t you tried that? :confused: Ccc can definitely backup over the network. There are other utilities out there that you can try, maybe one of them works over airport.

    Other than that you will have to go through your files manually.

    The last advice i can think of is to pop in your system dvd an test/repair your harddrive + permissions with disk utility.
     
  13. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #14
    Thanks. I've tried doing the opposite... connecting to my MBP with my iBook an dragging files to its harddrive. Seems to be fine for now, although it's only copied 130 mb or so and has 7 hours left -_- I think it should be good though if I just leave it. Thanks for your help and coming back to this thread

    Edit: I cancelled the transfer because AirPort is so slow and have them hardwired. Going 100x faster now. Seems to be fine. Thanks a lot :)
     

Share This Page