Target Mode and the 2012 iMacs

Discussion in 'iMac' started by F3ynman, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. F3ynman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Houston
    #1
    Can anyone speculate if the new 2012 iMacs will have target display mode?
     
  2. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
  3. Vandefilm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    #3
    I think that they do, but that's speculation.
     
  4. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #4
    I would expect target display mode to be there, but to require Thunderbolt as input (like the 2011 iMac's).

    I'd be less certain that you'll be able to input retinal resolutions -- especially if the 27" has a full 5120x2880. Assuming I did my math right, that would require ~20GB/sec, and the Thunderbolt only has 10GB/sec for the video stream...? Even 21" at 3840x2160 looks like it wouldn't work -- ~12GB/sec.
     
  5. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #5
    It wouldn't because the max output of thunderbolt is 1600p.
     
  6. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #6
    Yes, just like the 2011 models do.

    As has been said above, if the iMac gets a big jump in resolution (I'm not expecing a full double-dpi upgrade, that would be silly on a 27" display), you may be limited with the resolution you can display from an external source over Thunderbolt.

    As I recall the 2010 models only supported 720p or 1080p in target display mode, so it wouldn't be surprising to see something similar if the 2012 model outstrips the ability of DisplayPort/Thunderbolt to drive it.
     
  7. ja5tral macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    #7
    2012s are out - experiences

    So, anyone tried yet to hook up an xbox/ps3/blu ray player to his new iMac? I ordered the 21inch-model, should be delivered in 2 weeks, and i´m wondering if i could hook up a ps3 to it.
     
  8. Vidivici macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    Its not possible to use PS3/blu-ray players
    You can only use thunderbolt macs
     

Share This Page