Tascam and OS X Mavericks?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by PatricqueFoster, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. PatricqueFoster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #1
    Hi!

    I have a Tascam US-2000 audio interface and a Macbook Pro with Lion. My question is: anyone knows if the audio interface will work with OS X Mavericks? I read that Tascam products had some problems beign recognized in Mountain Lion. If anyone knows if this product (or any of the Tascam products) works in the new OS X version, please let me know.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. fa8362 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #2
    Why don't you install it on an external HD and try it yourself?
     
  3. thestickman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #3
  4. PatricqueFoster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #4
    Thanks for the info :) we'll have to wait for the new driver version, then...
     
  5. FastEd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    #5
    OK, when I first installed 10.9, it appeared that my us 2000 was useless. Upon further fiddling, I realized that the OS would see the interface, but wouldn't use it. I have Adobe Audition CS6 and Logic Pro 10, and they both use the us 2000 without any glitches, but again, the OS will not. I had a recording session with 3 musicians, and it went well.
     
  6. thestickman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #6
    I'm interested in learning what kind of "fiddling" you did to get your 2000 to work in Logic X.
     
  7. PatricqueFoster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #7
    So the OS can't use the interface but the DAW does?

    I have Logic 9, but I guess the "fiddling" would be similar, so I wanna know too.
     
  8. FastEd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    #8
    To get the driver to load click on the .dmg it will open a window with two programs.Right click on TASCAM US-2000_2.10.app and choose "Show Package contents" . Click on the .pkg and it will install the driver.
     
  9. PatricqueFoster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #9
    Thanks FastEd! If I grow short of patience waiting those drivers I'll try that. :)
     
  10. paul source macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Location:
    Italy - Piedmont
    #10
    As mentioned on Tascam site: This issue affects all current "US-" series interfaces.
    I confirm that upgrading the OS from 10.7 to 10.9, my US 144 MKII isn't recognized anymore, however Logic 9 still shows the peripheral in the devices list and allows me to use it as I did before; hopefully the driver update won't take too long to be released!
     
  11. PatricqueFoster, Nov 3, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013

    PatricqueFoster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #11
    I dunno… I've been looking at their Facebook page and it seems that they will take some time to make those drivers. It's really sad. But it seems the problem is that the OS won't detect it, not the program.

    I guess I will wait another week, and if there's no signal of new drivers, I'll update.

    EDIT: since I wasn't going to work in the future months with my computer recording, I updated to Mavericks. I must say, I didn't have any problems with Logic 9. Just tested it if it recognizes it and if the sound doesn't get distorted, and it was fine. I'll test it recording it tomorrow.
    Also, I didn't have to reinstall the drivers.
     
  12. squiredrake macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #12
    Solution

    THIS WORKED FOR ME...I'm running on MAVERICKS and I have a US-122Mkll . I was upgraded to most recent driver mountain lion and it was NOT working. I went ahead and removed the mountain lion driver, restarted my comp, then went back to the site and installed the previous driver for snow leopard instead. And now, it works like a charm. Try it guys.
     
  13. Ilovemacs1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #13
    Really no issues? I'll may try that.
     
  14. Pdublin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    #14

Share This Page