Taskwitcher on new iPhone 7 home button

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by lancastor, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. lancastor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #1


    Have a look at 0:50. You haven't to double tap the home button twice to open the taskswitcher.
     
  2. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Not seeing what you're describing.
     
  3. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    I do see a double press to invoke the app switcher.
     
  4. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    Double tap (like to activate Reachability) or double press?
     
  5. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    I see a double press.
     
  6. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    I don't understand OP's thread then. Is he trying to point out that double press opens the task switcher? It's always done that.
     
  7. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #7
    Yeah it's a little confusing. I am understanding it as you don't have to double press but yes you do, as per the video. I don't see why Apple would change that.
     
  8. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    I honestly wish it was double-tap to invoke or swipe up on the button itself as a gesture but oh well.
     
  9. Nozuka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    #9
    i think he just didn't see the double press. but it is clearly there.
     
  10. lancastor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #10
    He doesn't press twice as in any previous hardware home buttons to open the taskswitcher.

    It seems you can configure the home button to open the taskswitcher on a gently or hard press on the home button.

    That's a great feature. I don't liked the double press.
     
  11. stocklen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    #11
    I'm sure it will work fine.

    Might take some getting used to.

    Everyone seems to have forgotten about the other way to invoke the task switcher - 3d touch on the left side of the screen. Thats been around for the last 12 months on the 6s / plus and is actually quite handy.
     
  12. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #12
    He clearly double pressed in that video.
     

Share This Page